Steve's Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I've only had Korma in an Indian restaurant once, and it didn't taste like this. This dish tasted very similar to chicken curry without any bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snave88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. Surprisingly, not much flavor. Recipe is not bad but not great either. I probably won't make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
i must have done something wrong, because this was really lackluster. every indian dish ive tried to make at home has always been so-so. i think i need an indian person to teach me! hopefully others have better luck than i did. i was so disappointed, particularly because i was so excited to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Suh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
With the additions of other reviewers, this recipe is great with Coconut milk instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This dish was absolutely delicious! However, I did a LOT of improvisation to get the flavor and consistency that I wanted. I took other reviewers suggestions on using coconut milk, and doubled the helping. Actually, I doubled just about all the spices, as well as the yogurt. I probably tripled the chili, but I still didn't obtain the heat I wanted. On my next batch, I'm thinking of slowly mixing in some spicy green chiles to add that extra kick and give a little color. My only warning for this recipe is to be careful with adding extra cinnamon! It tastes great with spicy foods, but if you aren't careful it can dominate the dish. Southwestern cooking often utilizes this same trick, and I've ruined a dish before by adding too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Not very exciting. Needed a stronger curry flavor -- more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This recipe was good reccomend adding a dash of cayenne to kick up the heat. The ginger flavor was weak....next time I will substitue 1/2 tsp ginger for a tablespoon of ginger paste...Good base spice combo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Really good! This is a great korma recipe for anyone who doesn't like coconut. I happen to love it, so I added a wee bit of coconut cream to this. Loved it with Indian Style Basmati Rice and Indian Peas and Cauliflower from this site. Thanks for the recipe, Stephen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This isn't a bad recipe. I had to replace the yogurt and cream by coconut milk. Where this recipe loses points is with the tomatoes. Tomatoes have no business in a chicken korma. I made it without tomatoes and it was much better. I also tried throwing a couple of cardamon pods and it added so depth to the flavors. This recipe is a good base to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Very good, but not the Chicken Korma I'm used to. Maybe if I'd used the coconut milk as others have suggested. I did add a little curry, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I mainly used this version because it was the only one not requiring garam masala, which I think I will make next time and keep around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States