Steven's Baked Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I made quite bit of changes to this to suit our tastes. I seasoned the chicken with fajita mix prior to cooking it. I also added black beans to the recipe. I used cheddar instead of pepper jack. I served this with fresh shredded lettuce. I also served the sour cream on the side. I had a lot more "stuff" than chips, so it needed to be eaten more like a taco salad. It probably would have done better in a bigger cooking dish too. But all in all, a decent recipe! I like how the chips taste with everything when you bake them in the oven, which I've never done before. Be aware that this is a first day ONLY recipe, the chips will not survive as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Loved the idea of baking the chips, which created the best nachos. Instead of chicken I used ground beef with a fajita seasoning and it had amazing flavor. Great for an appetizer. The unfortunate part is that it is not good for left overs. My husband and I had to throw half of it out because we could not eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Simple & easy. The whole family liked it. I substituted jalepenos for green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These are very good. I made it more of a casserole though. I crushed the tortilla chips up a bit. I have made this twice once without the sour cream and once with. I & my family liked it much better with the sour cream layer. I also sauteed a chopped onion and added a layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a basic nacho recipe that I have made many times before. However I have never tried the sour cream as a layer on the chips before baking. That is why I am adding a review. I really liked it with the sour cream. I used chicken that I marinated in Lawrys Tequilla Lime sauce. My chips of choice are Tostitos Gold. They're firm and don't get soggy. I served with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I was looking for something to make for a quick lunch and came across this recipe. I had to make some changes based on ingredients at hand. We used sharp cheddar instead of pepper jack, white onions instead of green and canned chicken breast instead of fresh. I would totally make this again, but would leave out the layer of sour cream. I found it to curdle (and wasn't very appealing to the eye) and made the chips soggy. Other than that we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I changed the recipe up only because I make nachos to use up leftovers - I was interested in the cooking method (usually I nuke them) and the sour cream not being served on the side. I was impressed with both - the time allowed all the meat to get hot and cheese to become good and melty, and the sour cream was wonderful cooked with everything else - this is how I'll do it from now on. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was really good. I did not use meat but put 1 tbsp of taco seasoning with the refried beans. It was great and yummy!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Awesome. I usec ground beef but I am sure Chicken would be great. I would boil it in broth though. My husband hates sour cream but I guilted him into trying it and he loved it. I doubled the recipe and cookecd it a bit longer. Next time I will add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States