Steven's Baked Nachos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Loved the idea of baking the chips, which created the best nachos. Instead of chicken I used ground beef with a fajita seasoning and it had amazing flavor. Great for an appetizer. The unfortunate part is that it is not good for left overs. My husband and I had to throw half of it out because we could not eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is a basic nacho recipe that I have made many times before. However I have never tried the sour cream as a layer on the chips before baking. That is why I am adding a review. I really liked it with the sour cream. I used chicken that I marinated in Lawrys Tequilla Lime sauce. My chips of choice are Tostitos Gold. They're firm and don't get soggy. I served with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I made quite bit of changes to this to suit our tastes. I seasoned the chicken with fajita mix prior to cooking it. I also added black beans to the recipe. I used cheddar instead of pepper jack. I served this with fresh shredded lettuce. I also served the sour cream on the side. I had a lot more "stuff" than chips, so it needed to be eaten more like a taco salad. It probably would have done better in a bigger cooking dish too. But all in all, a decent recipe! I like how the chips taste with everything when you bake them in the oven, which I've never done before. Be aware that this is a first day ONLY recipe, the chips will not survive as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I changed the recipe up only because I make nachos to use up leftovers - I was interested in the cooking method (usually I nuke them) and the sour cream not being served on the side. I was impressed with both - the time allowed all the meat to get hot and cheese to become good and melty, and the sour cream was wonderful cooked with everything else - this is how I'll do it from now on. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I couldn't find a recipe quite like what I was looking for, so I modified this one. I cooked 1 lb of ground beef with taco seasoning, then layered it in a 9x13 pan with tortilla chips, cheese, pinto beans, tomato, green onion, and sliced jalapenos and baked it all as directed. I skipped the sour cream and served salsa and guac on the side. Perfection! I will hang on to this for gatherings and the occasional tv night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I did omit the sour cream and served it on the side with guacamole. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
These are very good. I made it more of a casserole though. I crushed the tortilla chips up a bit. I have made this twice once without the sour cream and once with. I & my family liked it much better with the sour cream layer. I also sauteed a chopped onion and added a layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I was looking for something to make for a quick lunch and came across this recipe. I had to make some changes based on ingredients at hand. We used sharp cheddar instead of pepper jack, white onions instead of green and canned chicken breast instead of fresh. I would totally make this again, but would leave out the layer of sour cream. I found it to curdle (and wasn't very appealing to the eye) and made the chips soggy. Other than that we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Awesome. I usec ground beef but I am sure Chicken would be great. I would boil it in broth though. My husband hates sour cream but I guilted him into trying it and he loved it. I doubled the recipe and cookecd it a bit longer. Next time I will add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States