Steph's Zesty Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is a delicious recipe ! I did tweak it some. I used store bought Italian style meatballs ...i also trippled the recipe because i like a lot of sauce. I added a cup of bbq sauce and a cup of ketchup. I also added 2 tablespoons of worchetshire sauce and about a tablespoons of red pepper flakes....i left the brown sugar at about a1/2 cup tho. I Iet them simmer on low for 2 hours & the last 2 hours i put it on high and added the pineapple andva red pepper. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These meatballs were AWESOME! I used pre-packaged, frozen, all natural chicken/turkey meatballs with this sauce - but next time I plan to make them homemade. The sauce is KILLER...we had 60 meatballs so I doubled the sauce recipe. I did sautee the green peppers before putting in crockpot to soften and brown them a bit. My husband likes a bit of kick, so I added some more soy sauce and some worchestershire to make it more tangy and not so sweet. It was a HUGE hit and everyone loved them!!! A VERY NICE change from the chili sauce/grape jelly sweet and sour recipe everyone makes. These were much better! DELICIOUS over rice, with extra "juice" drizzled on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
So here's the thing... I didn't have an egg, green pepper, or a can of pineapples. So I hand squeezed about 4 tangerines which equaled to about a cup. I added the soy sauce, cider vinegar, and everything like normal. I added about 1/2 a tsp of minced garlic to give it a spice kick. With the meatballs I simply omitted the egg and reduced the amount of milk I used. Meatballs still turned out great. I rolled them once in the bread crumbs before baking in the oven. Very tasty, Id used this sauce with chicken as well as these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was pretty good! I used store-bought, pre-made frozen meatballs. I put the frozen meatballls in the crockpot with the sauce and cooked on low for about 3 hours and on high for about 1 hour. Next time I will add some onion, green peppers, and carrots the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I also doubled the recipe, and used ground pork because I had pinapple pork meatballs one time at a superbowl party that were amazing! HOWEVER, this particular recipe was lacking something, just not sure what. my boyfriend loved it however, so maybe it was just me comparing it to the others i had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilliansmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olney, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
My mom loves anything w/ pineapple so I decided and my dad loves anything w/ beef, so I decided to try this recipe :) It turned out great. I had some time on my hands while my daughter napped so I made the meatballs and put them in the slow cooker on low w/ only the liquid ingredients (pineapple juice, cider vinegar, soy sauce) and the cornstarch for 3 hours. I chopped the green pepper and about 1/4 C red onion and put them in the fridge w/ the pineapple chunks. After the 3 hrs I turned the cooker up to high for 1 hr. It helped reduce the sauce so it was thicker and gooier. I turned it back to low and added the green pepper, onion and pineapple for 1 last hour. They were delicious! The sauce was a good consistency, the veggies were still slightly crisp, the pineapple was a little tender and the meatballs had time to absorb the flavors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnastasiaMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
CROCKPOT advice: After combining all the ingredients, put them into a crockpot and cook for four to six hours. This allows the sauce to permeate the meatballs and increases the deliciousness at least tenfold. Short cut: used a 2 lb. pkg. of frozen meatballs and cooked them in the microwave for ten minutes per pkg. directions. Made a double batch of the sauce adding 1 cup of ketchup. Used pineapple tidbits, not chunks and cut the pepper finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
While I was making this, my 8yr old son complained that my food "stunk" (apple cider vinegar). But when it came time to eat, he had 3 helpings. Yes, everyone else loved it too. It is sweet, but its still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I have made this twice now and both times were fantastic. The second time was tonight and I doubled the recipe so we would have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I was running late and decided to make this in a pot the second time and it turned out just as delicious as the first time in the crock pot. I did not change a thing...as I think the flavors are perfect the way they are. The meatballs were moist but not too moist. My husband says this is his favorite now. The second time I served it over white rice and it was fantastic. Definitely recommend!!! Thank you for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was a simple and easy recipe, it took me less than 15 minutes to make it. I left the Apple cider part and used white sugar instead and it was amazing. My husband couldn't stop eating. I served it over white rice and that's all it need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States