Steph's Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by purpleworld521
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I did not use the lemon pepper, but turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was pretty good, but not fantastic since it was a bit of a simple recipe. Still, I enjoyed it over two days. I made it exactly as written, but I paused to think about how to cook the chicken (the recipe was a little vague). I thought of poaching, then I just pan-fried the chicken breast halves on medium heat, with some vegetable oil cooking spray in the pan. It took a while to ensure the middle was no longer pink, so the outside was a bit browned (which I liked). A lot of my broccoli florets were kind of large, so I cut them into two or three pieces. I'd also never used lemon pepper before, so I got some just for this recipe. Since there wasn't really a dressing in this salad, just a little oil, the lemon pepper added a nice flavor to the mix. This was nice, and it's worth making again sometime, but it didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tejas_foods
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I like it too. I cooked everything separate for 10 minutes then combined in a large bowl with marinara. Prep time: 15 min; Cook time: 10 min - Broccoli (cut in small florets) - Chicken breasts (seasoned with Lemon Pepper) - Pasta (Barilla farfalle) - Warmed some Marinara while slicing the chicken into small chunks. Throwing everything into the bowl, and mix with serving utensils. Bonus: Serve with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was an awesome summer salad. It was very refreshing. I added peas, shredded carrots and cherry tomatos as well to add a crunch. I recieved many compliments on this salad. I also added fresh lemon juice to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Once you've added your seasoning and oil to taste, I think this is REALLY good. But you do have to like pepper or forget it. Also, add halved cherry tomoates for color or other veggie of coice. Suggest using tricolored pasta for color if no tomatoes available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Pretty tasty, though I did take some liberty with the recipe. I used a mix of pastas, spirals, egg noodles, and whole wheat egg noodles, for more of a salad feel. I cooked the broccoli in a separate pan with a thin layer of water. I never boil veggies because it leeches the nutrients. I used most of a fresh lemon and a liberal amount of pepper on the chicken as it cooked in a separate pan. When I mixed it all together it still wasn't strong enough so I added a great deal more pepper, lemon, salt, some fresh cilantro, and a healthy dose of olive oil. Now that's tasty! Next time I'll try cooking the broccoli and chicken in the same pan for a while to mix flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I chopped the raw chicken into bite-sized pieces, sprinkled liberally with lemon-pepper (aka use lots!) and added fresh chopped garlic and salt. Fast and easy, but missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I thought that this salad was pretty bland. I had to add a lot of salt and seasoning to it to make it flavorful. I liked that it was pretty easy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This recipie was super easy and yummy! I made it for lunch and it was perfect! I also added a tomato to liven it up a bit more! Be sure to used plenty of lemon pepper for more taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
Awesome! Very light tasting and a refreshing change from those heavy pasta salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States