Stephan's Broiled Salmon Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This recipe is very similar to one of my favorite dishes at a popular restaurant. Most pesto is made with olive oil, so its the healthy kind of fat. The first time I made it, I think I broiled it too close to the top and the wine burnt, causing the smoke detector to go off, the fish was not burnt at all and we still had a yummy dinner. The second time I made it, I decided not to chance it, and just cooked it over the stove, and although not as pretty, it still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This dish was average. The pesto didn't 'crust' like the recipe said it would. I'd make this again if I needed a quick dinner with little ingredients but wouldn't serve to dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This one of the best salmon dishes I have ever had and my wife enjoys it as well. We also like it as cold leftovers for lunch the next day. You have to like pesto to like this dish, but if you do, it makes for a tasty salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was very good - but I made a few modifications. I used the tomato based pesto and baked (not broiled) for 25 @375. I could imagine the caloric content of using regular pesto at even 1 cup! I used only 1/2 cup for 2.5lbs of salmon. Still very delicious. Topped it over "Salmon and Spinach Fettuccine" that is posted on this site. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was going to be great and it was just okay. There was a nice crust from the pesto. However, I used a jarred pesto and I noticed all of the olive oil that was used in the pesto separated causing much splattering in the broiler. My fiance says for lack of a better recipe we may try it again for the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I had a difficult time not burning the pesto. I actually had to remove the burnt parts, however my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This salmon really was delish. I made it for a group of 12 women and I believe all of them liked it. I left the pesto off part of one of the filets and that was also a hit for those who don't like pesto. I read the other comments so I made the Pesto from scratch instead of using the convenient one from Costco that I had bought. Great idea as I think it did make a difference. Lemon is a necessity. I broiled it on hi mostly but lowered to lo. 8 minutes did it perfectly. I refigerated it for a few hours and we ate it cold. Awesome! I served it with the Risotto Cake from this site and Roasted Vegetables. A bikini martini was the starter drink and we had a great evening. Perfect for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was okay. Not terrible, not great. I wasn't sure what to expect from the other reviews -- seems like people either loved it or hated it. I was in the middle. I don't know that I'd make it again, but it was fairly decent. I think it is key to be sure that you are not putting the fish too close to the broiler. I baked it for about 22-25 minutes and the fish was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Very easy and doesn't require many ingredients. I didn't even have wine. But salmon came out real flavorful and delicious. My broiler has High and Low settings - I used Low and it was perfect - took about 25 minutes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Broiled Salmon

See how to make delicious salmon broiled with a butter and herb sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States