Stephan's Broiled Salmon Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I decided to bake this at 375 for about 20 minutes and then broil for a few minutes to finish off. I added sea salt and black pepper to the salmon before topping with the pesto (which I used less than stated). This was really good and I will be making it again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by WENSMITH
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Salmon takes the pesto flavor really well and it was just the thing to use up the pesto in my fridge. Like with other reviewers, the crust eluded me. I will make this again though, and maybe cheat and try some bread crumbs over the pesto. This is awesome served with polenta and a green veggie like broccoli, green beans, or asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Used a prepared sun dried tomato pesto from the grocery store, but otherwise followed the recipe. This was very tasty. The pesto got nice a crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This recipe is very similar to one of my favorite dishes at a popular restaurant. Most pesto is made with olive oil, so its the healthy kind of fat. The first time I made it, I think I broiled it too close to the top and the wine burnt, causing the smoke detector to go off, the fish was not burnt at all and we still had a yummy dinner. The second time I made it, I decided not to chance it, and just cooked it over the stove, and although not as pretty, it still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This dish was average. The pesto didn't 'crust' like the recipe said it would. I'd make this again if I needed a quick dinner with little ingredients but wouldn't serve to dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This one of the best salmon dishes I have ever had and my wife enjoys it as well. We also like it as cold leftovers for lunch the next day. You have to like pesto to like this dish, but if you do, it makes for a tasty salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was very good - but I made a few modifications. I used the tomato based pesto and baked (not broiled) for 25 @375. I could imagine the caloric content of using regular pesto at even 1 cup! I used only 1/2 cup for 2.5lbs of salmon. Still very delicious. Topped it over "Salmon and Spinach Fettuccine" that is posted on this site. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I thought this recipe was going to be great and it was just okay. There was a nice crust from the pesto. However, I used a jarred pesto and I noticed all of the olive oil that was used in the pesto separated causing much splattering in the broiler. My fiance says for lack of a better recipe we may try it again for the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I had a difficult time not burning the pesto. I actually had to remove the burnt parts, however my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Broiled Salmon

See how to make delicious salmon broiled with a butter and herb sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States