Stephan's Broiled Salmon Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very simple to make. I roasted at 425 for 7 minutes and then broiled for 7 minutes. It wasn't crispy but it wasn't soupy either. Next time I will move the pan closer to the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I thought this was really yummy, but it really was like pesto on top of salmon, the salmon itself didn't grab much of the flavoring from the pesto. I still liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
It can't get any simpler than this and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetadharmony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I've used this recipe in the past (cookbook) and its a great change of pace to the everyday salmon preparation. For those who have issue with over browning, simply lower your rack or eat salmon medium to medium rare, which is how it tastes best anyway. The crust will not be crispy. It inherently goes on wet and forms a moist crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Delicious! For those who had issues with the cooking method -- suggest you watch "Chef John's" video for pesto-broiled salmon. Once the fillets are coated with pesto, begin by placing your baking sheet on the stove burner, just for a couple of minutes to give the bottom of the fish a head start. Move to the broiler (approx 8 inches from flame) until browned. Then reset oven to 350 and bake for a few minutes til its to your liking. This is the method I've used and it's worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
It was an interesting idea (and seemed great for using up leftover pesto), but the pesto never hardened and I was left with a bunch of gloppy pesto over over-cooked salmon :( I started the pan far from the broiler and gradually brought it nearer until it was directly below-much longer than 8-10 minutes total-and it never burned :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was very good! I took some other suggestions and baked the fish first - 400 degrees for 15 minutes - then put on the pesto and broiled it on low for 5 minutes, high for 3. HOWEVER, the pesto wasn't crispy how I would've liked - next time, I think I'll bake for 10 minutes, then add the pesto and broil on high for at least 10 minutes to make it nice and browned. The only changes I made to the ingredients was not using as much pesto as was called for. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Mmmmmm! That is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thatpoliscinerd
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Simple, fast, and delicious. My class didn't get out until 9pm tonight, and with this recipe, I was enjoying a delicious meal 20 minutes after I got home. Per other suggestions, I broiled a bit prior to putting on the pesto. The pesto didn't completely crust, but I was concerned about cooking the fish thoroughly, and it was still very good. I had a fairly thick piece of salmon, so I broiled for 5 minutes with just the lemon and wine, then added the pesto and broiled for another 5 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatpoliscinerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My husband I LOVE this recipe! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Broiled Salmon

See how to make delicious salmon broiled with a butter and herb sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States