Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
A great, basic recipe. While dipping the tomatoes in a hot water bath to get the skins off, I let them sit in there for about 5 minutes. This cooks the tomatoes down a bit. I then let them sit in a collander for about 30 minutes to drain out the excess juice which makes the sauce runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My husband and I made this together and liked the results. We'd consider removing the tomato skins when we make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I actually had 16 cups of tomatoes on hand from my CSA box, so this was perfect for me. I used everthing except for the bell pepper. It turned out really flavorful and my husband and I look forward to eating this spaghetti sauce all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good sauce we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have made this 3 years in a row and it's great! My only tweaks is to use fresh basil, fresh oregano, and replace the green bell pepper with a red bell pepper (we're not green pepper fans). It froze beautifully and tasted SO fresh even out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very Good! Next Year more tomatoes in the garden for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Made it with double bell pepper and a pound of mushrooms. Also used fresh basil and it was TO DIE FOR. I could eat it plain with no spaghetti and be perfectly happy. I think next time I will reduce the sugar by half. It is sweet but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Yum! This was just the recipe I was looking for. I followed the recipe, except I omitted the tomato paste. Instead, I uncovered my crock pot for the last 30-45 minutes to let it thicken on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome sauce! I simmered all on the stove for several hours, cut the sugar and salt to 1 T. and used olive oil (a must in my opinion for anything Italian), and used 2 T. Italian seasoning and 1 T. oregano with fresh basil for the herbs. I also added the tomato paste. It made about 4 quart jars. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States