Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe is a great way to use up my garden tomatoes. I did blanch the tomatoes to remove the skins, then cut them in wedges to remove most of the seeds. The suace was a bit thin, but when I was heating it for dinner, I threw a few spaghetti noodles in the sauce. They helped absorb some of the extra water/juice. I liked the flavor was not too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great recipe. I upped the garlic to 6 cloves, used 2 cups chopped onions, coconut oil in place of vegetable oil, fresh basil and parsley from my garden, sea salt and 2 cans of tomato sauce that I put in before cooling the sauce. I found that I neded about 17 or 18 large tomatoes to get 16 cups as called for. I also pureed the sauce after it was done. I don't like chunky tomatoes in my spaghetti sauce. After pureeing it was perfect. I then vacuumed sealed lots of pint mason jars and froze a lot of it for this winter. Great recipe....yummy spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Someone gave me about 40 beefsteak tomatoes and I blanched them, removed the peel, and squeezed them to break them up. I followed the recipe except I didn't use a green pepper and I used fresh basil. I substituted Splenda for the white sugar and sauteed the onions and garlic on top of the stove. When the onion were translucent, I transferred them into my crock pot. I have a huge crock pot and it was filled to the top. I cooked it on high for 2 hours and on low for about 4 hours. I let it sit overnight until it was completely cooled down and loaded them into quart and gallon bags to freeze. I will add tomato paste when they're defrosted and I hope to have enough sauce for most of the winter. I tasted it all along and it was great. I even made a quart of tomato juice before even putting the tomatoes into the crock pot. Thanks for this great recipe, Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have made this recipe for a couple of seasons now. Very easy but takes some time. I make it in a dutch oven on the stove. It's not quite so messy this way. I blanched and peeled my tomatoes first and removed the seeds. It makes for a thicker sauce. I also used a whole head of garlic and added some carrots from my garden. I think this year I will add some zuccini as well. I add the tomato paste before I freeze and I puree the sauce. My family does not like chuncky sauce. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! Very fresh and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Thought this made a great homemade sauce. I did use fresh basil instead of dried for more flavor. I cooked for 2 1/2 hours then had to put in fridge overnight (it was already 11:00pm) Next day I added tomato paste but had to add almost 2 6oz cans to get it to my own personal desired thickness. Believe this recipe is a great one to tweek to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I make this every few months and it is so worth it! You can't find a jarred sauce at the store that can beat this. Depending on my mood, I will add mushrooms, more garlic, port wine, etc... Sometimes I leave out the meat, whatever our tastes are at the time. It's a very versatile recipe and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made and froze this sauce at the end of last summer and I am still using it up. Very good! I also peeled the tomatoes by blanching first. I omitted the green pepper and I simmered for a couple hours on the stove top instead of using a slow cooker. As a previous reviewer noted, I add a 6oz can of tomato paste for each quart when I heat it up. I will definitely use this recipe again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I think that this recipe is PERFECT! I used less salt because someone reveiwed and said too much salt. I used 2 teaspoons salt. I also did not freeze this, I canned it! Worked out wonderfully! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I just realized that I have not reviewed this recipe. We made this spaghetti sauce last summer with fresh veggies from the garden. This was alot easier than some sauce recipes. I do think the sauce is a bit on the runny side but the tomato paste does help a little. I like using the roasted garlic tomato paste for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe! There's nothing like homemade sauce, and I love to utilize my slow cooker as often as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States