Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
First time I have ever made spaghetti sauce from scratch with my garden tomatoes. The sauce had more spice/kick to it than I expected, so that was nice! I decided to freeze all of it since I feel like it's more of a "winter" spaghetti sauce than a more cool, refreshing, blander "summer" spaghetti sauce. Yum! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe is a great way to use up my garden tomatoes. I did blanch the tomatoes to remove the skins, then cut them in wedges to remove most of the seeds. The suace was a bit thin, but when I was heating it for dinner, I threw a few spaghetti noodles in the sauce. They helped absorb some of the extra water/juice. I liked the flavor was not too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great recipe. I upped the garlic to 6 cloves, used 2 cups chopped onions, coconut oil in place of vegetable oil, fresh basil and parsley from my garden, sea salt and 2 cans of tomato sauce that I put in before cooling the sauce. I found that I neded about 17 or 18 large tomatoes to get 16 cups as called for. I also pureed the sauce after it was done. I don't like chunky tomatoes in my spaghetti sauce. After pureeing it was perfect. I then vacuumed sealed lots of pint mason jars and froze a lot of it for this winter. Great recipe....yummy spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Someone gave me about 40 beefsteak tomatoes and I blanched them, removed the peel, and squeezed them to break them up. I followed the recipe except I didn't use a green pepper and I used fresh basil. I substituted Splenda for the white sugar and sauteed the onions and garlic on top of the stove. When the onion were translucent, I transferred them into my crock pot. I have a huge crock pot and it was filled to the top. I cooked it on high for 2 hours and on low for about 4 hours. I let it sit overnight until it was completely cooled down and loaded them into quart and gallon bags to freeze. I will add tomato paste when they're defrosted and I hope to have enough sauce for most of the winter. I tasted it all along and it was great. I even made a quart of tomato juice before even putting the tomatoes into the crock pot. Thanks for this great recipe, Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have made this recipe for a couple of seasons now. Very easy but takes some time. I make it in a dutch oven on the stove. It's not quite so messy this way. I blanched and peeled my tomatoes first and removed the seeds. It makes for a thicker sauce. I also used a whole head of garlic and added some carrots from my garden. I think this year I will add some zuccini as well. I add the tomato paste before I freeze and I puree the sauce. My family does not like chuncky sauce. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! Very fresh and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Thought this made a great homemade sauce. I did use fresh basil instead of dried for more flavor. I cooked for 2 1/2 hours then had to put in fridge overnight (it was already 11:00pm) Next day I added tomato paste but had to add almost 2 6oz cans to get it to my own personal desired thickness. Believe this recipe is a great one to tweek to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I make this every few months and it is so worth it! You can't find a jarred sauce at the store that can beat this. Depending on my mood, I will add mushrooms, more garlic, port wine, etc... Sometimes I leave out the meat, whatever our tastes are at the time. It's a very versatile recipe and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made and froze this sauce at the end of last summer and I am still using it up. Very good! I also peeled the tomatoes by blanching first. I omitted the green pepper and I simmered for a couple hours on the stove top instead of using a slow cooker. As a previous reviewer noted, I add a 6oz can of tomato paste for each quart when I heat it up. I will definitely use this recipe again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I think that this recipe is PERFECT! I used less salt because someone reveiwed and said too much salt. I used 2 teaspoons salt. I also did not freeze this, I canned it! Worked out wonderfully! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I just realized that I have not reviewed this recipe. We made this spaghetti sauce last summer with fresh veggies from the garden. This was alot easier than some sauce recipes. I do think the sauce is a bit on the runny side but the tomato paste does help a little. I like using the roasted garlic tomato paste for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States