Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I follow the recipe exactly. Great as is..but even better if served with good sweet Italian sausage and with some heavy cream added just before serving...YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious use of garden tomatoes, and so nice to have my freezer full of spaghetti sauce ready to go! This is my 2nd year making this, I make several (large) batches a year. I make this in a 12 qt stockpot, and since my kids don't like "chunks" in their sauce, I pureed the veggies in the food processor first. (And I add 8 oz. mushrooms and a zucchini). I don't add any sugar. Add Italian Seasoning, fresh basil, and a few shakes of crushed red pepper. I store it in quart sized freezer bags and have really enjoyed having it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was a nice sauce for freezing. I made lasagna with the sauce and it was delicious. I also used for spaghetti sauce and it was a little watery for me and could use a little more flavor. Perfect with lasagna due to all the other flavors you add but if I make it for spaghetti again I will add a little extra garlic and onion when browning the meat...maybe even add a little extra italian seasonings at that time as well. All iin all a great recipe to play with especially if you have a garden full of tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Simple, Easy & the perfect way to use up the abundance of tomatoes we have! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Wonderful! None of it made it to the freezer! Added a HUGE zucchini (chopped) during the sautéed vegetable step. Served it over spaghetti squash. Hubby (aka Squash Hater) went back for seconds then thirds. Thank you!!! The entire family now eats squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great sauce! It is a simple recipe. Preparing the tomatoes does take some time, but it is easy. The flavor was fabulous and tasted garden fresh and healthy. I'm saving this one to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Easy & Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great sauce with great flavour, tastes of your harvest all year long! The tip to add the tomato paste after you thaw is great as my previous tries at freezer sauces end up watery. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great recipe. Keep the mess under control by using a slow cooker liner. 6 qt crockpot. I sautéed the onions in a pan on the stove first to get them going then used the crock pot on high for an hour then turned it to low overnight. It makes it a nice rich color with a roasted taste. I used red bell pepper instead of green for a sweeter taste. I have a 3 cup food processor which makes it a breeze once I peeled and coarsely sliced the veggies. Great use for the cheap bruised tomatoes at the produce stand. I cut it down to about 2 1/2 quarts. I reheated it with a small can of paste then gradually adding sauce to desired thickness. Fresh chopped basil and rosemary from the herb garden add character. Worked great with Cheese ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I was very happy with this recipe! I added some sausage and used fresh herbs, but otherwise followed the directions. A great way to use some of my garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States