Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
very good. good way to use up lots of tomatoes. i thought I had alot of tomatoes, but had to use some canned as it called for more than I had still. froze, and tastes good. and very easy besides all the chopping of tomatoes. didn't peel tomatoes or seed them. may peel next time, but might not be worth the effort as it wasn't that big of deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yummy! My kids aren't big on veggies so once everything was soft after cooking I blended with my hand blender and they had no idea I had added veggies to their dinner! Added different veggies each time I have made it. Carrots, bell peppers, whatever sounds good to you will work with this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Is there a certain type of tomato that should be used for this recipe (or would be best)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
MMMM! this sauce is great and it Does freeze well. I froze it in ice cube trays so whenever I needed some sauce I could just thaw however much I wanted. I loved using my own tomatoes and basil from my garden. Any time you can use a crockpot is awesome, too! Mine came out a little watery, so I just add some tomato paste or pizza sauce to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little temple
Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
A very nice combo of seasonings, I used fresh herbs so tripled the measurements of those. Before we had crock-pots -and if you do not have a big enough one - I used to use a large turkey roasting pan and cook it down in the oven, 300 degrees F, stirring once an hour til it thickened to what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I follow the recipe exactly. Great as is..but even better if served with good sweet Italian sausage and with some heavy cream added just before serving...YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious use of garden tomatoes, and so nice to have my freezer full of spaghetti sauce ready to go! This is my 2nd year making this, I make several (large) batches a year. I make this in a 12 qt stockpot, and since my kids don't like "chunks" in their sauce, I pureed the veggies in the food processor first. (And I add 8 oz. mushrooms and a zucchini). I don't add any sugar. Add Italian Seasoning, fresh basil, and a few shakes of crushed red pepper. I store it in quart sized freezer bags and have really enjoyed having it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was a nice sauce for freezing. I made lasagna with the sauce and it was delicious. I also used for spaghetti sauce and it was a little watery for me and could use a little more flavor. Perfect with lasagna due to all the other flavors you add but if I make it for spaghetti again I will add a little extra garlic and onion when browning the meat...maybe even add a little extra italian seasonings at that time as well. All iin all a great recipe to play with especially if you have a garden full of tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Simple, Easy & the perfect way to use up the abundance of tomatoes we have! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States