Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe! For those who say it's watery, the trick I use is to boil (then put in cold water) and peel the tomatos, then cut them in half and squeeze out as much of the water as possible, as well as getting rid of the seeds. That should help. Also, for people who are hesitant about adding sugar...it counter acts the tomatoes, and is what gives it more of a "spaghetti sauce" flavor, rather than an overly tomato paste flavor. I usually start by just adding a little bit, and continue to add until it tastes right. I don't think I've ever used 1/4 of a cup, though. Don't be afraid of the sugar! Just some thoughts...love making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe and made delicious sauce. We like a smoother sauce, so after it cooled, I pureed it in a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I was overrun with tomatoes and had this recipe suggested to me on the morning buzz. What a great recipe! I cooked the sauce on top of the stove in my dutch oven versus the crockpot. Had plenty of fresh oregano & basill so added those. I simmered the sauce all afternoon, about four hours, on low. It smelled so good! I did freeze the sauce, but I could not wait and pulled the first batch out of the freezer within the week. I browned ground beef, added 2 quart bags of the sauce, and two small cans of tomato paste. Simmered all for about forty minutes or so. Delish! Thanks for a great recipe and an excellent way to use up plentiful garden tomatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
A bit bland for our taste...I added a couple of partial jars of sauce I had in the fridge...and added some black pepper, cayanne, salt and garlic powder to spice it up a bit. Puree'd in the blender after slow cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Our family didn't enjoy this too well. I have a ton of tomatoes and the first time I made this I improvised quite a bit and it wasn't very good. The second time I followed the recipe much more closely and it still didn't have very good flavor. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Haiku: "Fresh tomatoes, yay! Why not use all fresh herbs too? Not quite thick enough." Tomatoes abound in my garden right now, so while plucking those, I grabbed handfuls of oregano, basil and parsley too, and I took the extra time to quickly boil and peel the tomatoes. Stayed faithful to the rest of the ingredients, and my only complaint was that even w/ the tomato paste, it was still a thin sauce that didn't cling to pasta at all. The taste was great, but I like a little more thickness to my sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Wonderful spaghetti sauce. I made numerous batches of this last summer on the stovetop rather than the slow cooker. I just cooked on med-low for 2 hours until it reached the thickness I wanted. I froze it in Ziplock bags. If you want a nice thick sauce, that doesn't water up and run all over your pasta, make sure you add the can of tomato paste when using this in a recipe. This is a wonderful recipe to use those summer tomatoes. Since making this last summer I have not purchased any store bought spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I make this recipe every summer with my abundance of tomatoes and freeze quarts of it to hold me over through the winter. Great recipe. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very tasty!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
GREAT SAUCE!! We have been making this nearly a year now and my family LOVES it! My family does not like chunky veggie style sauce, but I follow this recipe in addition to adding a couple of peeled/diced carrots, mushrooms, sometimes a red bell pepper, zucchini, and yellow squash. I cook it on low for 6-10 hours then let cool completely before putting in quart freezer bag. I puree with a hand blender so it's nearly chunk free. It is watery when defrosted, but heated on the stove with one can of paste and it's perfect! Natural, filling, and packed full of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States