Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I actually made this to have tonight, not necessarily freeze, although I love that idea! It was wonderful, perfectly flavorful. My whole house smelled amazing. I used canned tomatoes rather than fresh and closer to a whole green pepper. Due to time, I just did it all in a pan on the stovetop for about an hour. I'm excited to have leftovers, as I'm sure it will taste even better tomorrow! What a simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is simply fabulous as is! This is the second year I have made it using the end of the year tomatoes from my garden. One slight variance - I use fresh herbs that I also grow. They make for a very fresh tasting sauce, especially in the middle of winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Made this sauce as written . Used half without adding the tomato paste over pasta with crumbled bacon and a little Parmesan on top. Excellent. Froze the other half and will add the paste to it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
DELICIOUS!!!!! I just tasted this as I'm waiting for it to cook down and it is amazing! I am cooking mine in a stockpot on the stove. I also blanched and peeled the tomatoes as well as added a bit of red bell pepper that I wanted to use up. I only put 1 tbls. of the basil in because of personal preference. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This sauce is fab-u-licious!! I had a boat load of tomatoes from the garden soI made this recipe many times over. It is so versatile I used it in everthing that called for re sauce; lasagna, shells spaghetti, etc. It went well with every dish. I also froze a lot for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made this recipe but added 1 lb. of ground beef to the batch. OH MY! This is officially my new favorite spaghetti sauce as well as my husband's. It is a great solution for the abundance of tomatoes we had from the garden this year! It is so much better than any sauce you will buy in a can or jar... and it's very easy to make. It takes some time, but it's totally worth it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Keim Bankert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Easy and delicious! Made excellent lasagna with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have used this recipe for several years now. I use the food processor to speed things up. The sauce is runny, so I strain the tomatoes with a fine strainer before & after cooking them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made this yesterday and it was fantastic. I peeled my tomatoes and used fresh herbs but all other ingredients were as the recipe indicated. I split the batch, simmered half on stove top and the other half in slow cooker. The stove top batch was ready in about 3 hours, the suff in the slow cooker wasn't to a consistency that I like until about 4 hours. I made a meal right away and froze the remainder in 3 serving portions in freezer bags. My husband and I both loved the way the sauce turned out once the paste was added. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I needed to do something with the many tomatoes before leaving for vacation. Made this on a whim, so glad I did. It's a perfect, easy way to use the tomatoes that all ripen at the same time. I had Roma's , heirloom and even cherry tomatoes. Try this you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States