Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This sauce is the best. I only made half a batch just in case I didn't like it, and now I wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I made minimal changes to this recipe when trying it for the first time - I peeled the tomatoes first (personal preference), reduced the sugar to only 1/8 cup, and reduced the salt to 1-1/2 tbls - I did make this on the stove, simmered it for three hours. Served it to my ITALIAN father-in-law and he declared it "Great" - he said his mother used to make a sauce like it many years ago. Some of us topped it with feta cheese, and some of us topped it with shredded parmesean (instead of grated). Thanks very much for the recipe Stephanie- it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Thank you SO much. This is so good. I only made half a batch, but my boyfriend said it was the best spaghetti he'd ever eaten and at the top of the list of one of his favorite meals ever. I followed the recipe pretty closly I omitted the oil, added a jar of mushrooms, a bay leaf, and a little red pepper flake; and cooked it on the stove. Can sauce will never be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monett, Missouri, USA
Living In: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I scaled this recipe to suit the amount of tomatoes I had to use. I also used fresh herbs from my garden and adjusted the amounts accordingly. I added mushrooms, a little balsamic vinegar and a dash of red pepper flakes. After simmering, the sauce was awesome. I froze most, but saved some to reheat for supper. It was great. I hope the the thawed results are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I did this in a lobster pot on the stove because there isn't a crock pot big enough for the bounty of tomatoes I had from the garden this year. The seasonings for this recipe are good and proportionate, and for a meatless sauce, it is outstanding. I did not use any oil. I chop and add veggies to the pot as is. I blanched and peeled the tomatoes, though, and left them chunky. Also, I added a lot of green peppers, onions, and fresh mushrooms to make it stocky, and I added more tomato paste because I like the sauce thick. This is as good a basic recipe as I've tried. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This recipe is great. It has a great blend of seasonings. Me and my family loved it. I would highly recommend it. Thankyou Stephanie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This is a great recipe! I was a little unsure after I finished cooking the sauce in the crockpot because it looked a little too watery, but after the addition of the tomato paste, it was fantastic. The texture was great and the flavor was better than store bought. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
made this for many occasions. everyone loved it! always looking for something to do when people give me tomatoes all at the soame time. i substituedd FRESH basil because I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Great recipe. I have been using it for a couple years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was my first try at making sauce from tomatoes, and it came out great! I made very minimal changes (I used dried parsey instead of fresh, I only used 1 onion and I added a few bay leaves) and I loved the end results. I also browned some spicy italian sausage and meatballs and threw them in to simmer with the sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States