Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I actually had 16 cups of tomatoes on hand from my CSA box, so this was perfect for me. I used everthing except for the bell pepper. It turned out really flavorful and my husband and I look forward to eating this spaghetti sauce all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good sauce we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have made this 3 years in a row and it's great! My only tweaks is to use fresh basil, fresh oregano, and replace the green bell pepper with a red bell pepper (we're not green pepper fans). It froze beautifully and tasted SO fresh even out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very Good! Next Year more tomatoes in the garden for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Made it with double bell pepper and a pound of mushrooms. Also used fresh basil and it was TO DIE FOR. I could eat it plain with no spaghetti and be perfectly happy. I think next time I will reduce the sugar by half. It is sweet but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Yum! This was just the recipe I was looking for. I followed the recipe, except I omitted the tomato paste. Instead, I uncovered my crock pot for the last 30-45 minutes to let it thicken on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Awesome sauce! I simmered all on the stove for several hours, cut the sugar and salt to 1 T. and used olive oil (a must in my opinion for anything Italian), and used 2 T. Italian seasoning and 1 T. oregano with fresh basil for the herbs. I also added the tomato paste. It made about 4 quart jars. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Awesome. We canned this instead of freezing it, just because we like to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did like this recipe. It's a great way to use up tomatoes. I used varying types tomatoes... and made half the recommended batch. I did use fresh basil and eliminated the green pepper. I let the sauce cook as recommended, cooled it, and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The next day, I pureed part of it and mixed it all together. It's a little thinner than I would like, but delicious... my husband and son ate it right up too! Will make again (assuming I am lucky enough to have that many tomatoes!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States