Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This summer was my first time making homemade spaghetti sauce and it couldn't have been easier! I left out the pepper and used olive oil instead of veg oil. I've made several batches and all taste great. I add the tomato past while cooking in the crock pot. Once cooked, I cool and put in the blender to make a really smooth sauce. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APKinney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I used this as a base recipe & customized it after reading several of the reviews. I also pureed it after it was done cooking as I snuck in several fresh zucchini's. I also used some of my jalapeno's to up the flavor kick! A great starting point for a recipe... use your imagination & your family's tastes & you too will have a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great flavor! We canned this recipe to use throughout the year. Good flavor, we doubled the recipe, omitted the oil, and saved the paste for when we serve the sauce. Also, thought to add meat and mushrooms, etc. then as well. We let this cook all afternoon and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Imbler, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe as written. The sauce was amazing, but watery, until I added the 6 oz of tomato paste. It was terrible after that and I tried adding back more spices, pepper, a little sugar, etc. and it still tasted like tomato paste. I'll try just adding cornstarch whisked with water to the next quart. I am surprised no one else has commented on the bad tomato paste flavor. This leads me to believe I'm doing something wrong. If you have any ideas, please let me know! I still have more in the freezer without the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
First time I have ever made spaghetti sauce from scratch with my garden tomatoes. The sauce had more spice/kick to it than I expected, so that was nice! I decided to freeze all of it since I feel like it's more of a "winter" spaghetti sauce than a more cool, refreshing, blander "summer" spaghetti sauce. Yum! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This recipe is a great way to use up my garden tomatoes. I did blanch the tomatoes to remove the skins, then cut them in wedges to remove most of the seeds. The suace was a bit thin, but when I was heating it for dinner, I threw a few spaghetti noodles in the sauce. They helped absorb some of the extra water/juice. I liked the flavor was not too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Great recipe. I upped the garlic to 6 cloves, used 2 cups chopped onions, coconut oil in place of vegetable oil, fresh basil and parsley from my garden, sea salt and 2 cans of tomato sauce that I put in before cooling the sauce. I found that I neded about 17 or 18 large tomatoes to get 16 cups as called for. I also pureed the sauce after it was done. I don't like chunky tomatoes in my spaghetti sauce. After pureeing it was perfect. I then vacuumed sealed lots of pint mason jars and froze a lot of it for this winter. Great recipe....yummy spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Someone gave me about 40 beefsteak tomatoes and I blanched them, removed the peel, and squeezed them to break them up. I followed the recipe except I didn't use a green pepper and I used fresh basil. I substituted Splenda for the white sugar and sauteed the onions and garlic on top of the stove. When the onion were translucent, I transferred them into my crock pot. I have a huge crock pot and it was filled to the top. I cooked it on high for 2 hours and on low for about 4 hours. I let it sit overnight until it was completely cooled down and loaded them into quart and gallon bags to freeze. I will add tomato paste when they're defrosted and I hope to have enough sauce for most of the winter. I tasted it all along and it was great. I even made a quart of tomato juice before even putting the tomatoes into the crock pot. Thanks for this great recipe, Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have made this recipe for a couple of seasons now. Very easy but takes some time. I make it in a dutch oven on the stove. It's not quite so messy this way. I blanched and peeled my tomatoes first and removed the seeds. It makes for a thicker sauce. I also used a whole head of garlic and added some carrots from my garden. I think this year I will add some zuccini as well. I add the tomato paste before I freeze and I puree the sauce. My family does not like chuncky sauce. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! Very fresh and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Thought this made a great homemade sauce. I did use fresh basil instead of dried for more flavor. I cooked for 2 1/2 hours then had to put in fridge overnight (it was already 11:00pm) Next day I added tomato paste but had to add almost 2 6oz cans to get it to my own personal desired thickness. Believe this recipe is a great one to tweek to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States