Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Wonderful spaghetti sauce. I made numerous batches of this last summer on the stovetop rather than the slow cooker. I just cooked on med-low for 2 hours until it reached the thickness I wanted. I froze it in Ziplock bags. If you want a nice thick sauce, that doesn't water up and run all over your pasta, make sure you add the can of tomato paste when using this in a recipe. This is a wonderful recipe to use those summer tomatoes. Since making this last summer I have not purchased any store bought spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I make this recipe every summer with my abundance of tomatoes and freeze quarts of it to hold me over through the winter. Great recipe. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very tasty!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
GREAT SAUCE!! We have been making this nearly a year now and my family LOVES it! My family does not like chunky veggie style sauce, but I follow this recipe in addition to adding a couple of peeled/diced carrots, mushrooms, sometimes a red bell pepper, zucchini, and yellow squash. I cook it on low for 6-10 hours then let cool completely before putting in quart freezer bag. I puree with a hand blender so it's nearly chunk free. It is watery when defrosted, but heated on the stove with one can of paste and it's perfect! Natural, filling, and packed full of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is the best homemade spaghetti sauce recipe I've ever found! I used up a ton of garden tomatoes with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocemalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have made this sauce twice and my entire family loves it! After all other ingredients are cooked I puree it right in the pot with my immersion blender and then I add 1 pound of browned ground turkey and 1 pound of browned ground mild Italian sausage to make a meaty sauce that is excellent on pasta or in lasagna. Thanks for this delicious recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
very good. good way to use up lots of tomatoes. i thought I had alot of tomatoes, but had to use some canned as it called for more than I had still. froze, and tastes good. and very easy besides all the chopping of tomatoes. didn't peel tomatoes or seed them. may peel next time, but might not be worth the effort as it wasn't that big of deal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Yummy! My kids aren't big on veggies so once everything was soft after cooking I blended with my hand blender and they had no idea I had added veggies to their dinner! Added different veggies each time I have made it. Carrots, bell peppers, whatever sounds good to you will work with this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Is there a certain type of tomato that should be used for this recipe (or would be best)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States