Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great sauce! It is a simple recipe. Preparing the tomatoes does take some time, but it is easy. The flavor was fabulous and tasted garden fresh and healthy. I'm saving this one to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Easy & Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Great sauce with great flavour, tastes of your harvest all year long! The tip to add the tomato paste after you thaw is great as my previous tries at freezer sauces end up watery. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great recipe. Keep the mess under control by using a slow cooker liner. 6 qt crockpot. I sautéed the onions in a pan on the stove first to get them going then used the crock pot on high for an hour then turned it to low overnight. It makes it a nice rich color with a roasted taste. I used red bell pepper instead of green for a sweeter taste. I have a 3 cup food processor which makes it a breeze once I peeled and coarsely sliced the veggies. Great use for the cheap bruised tomatoes at the produce stand. I cut it down to about 2 1/2 quarts. I reheated it with a small can of paste then gradually adding sauce to desired thickness. Fresh chopped basil and rosemary from the herb garden add character. Worked great with Cheese ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I was very happy with this recipe! I added some sausage and used fresh herbs, but otherwise followed the directions. A great way to use some of my garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
very good sauce! I sauted the veggies on the stove and then added all ingredients together in the crockpot. I only had 12 cups of tomatoes after cutting them all up, but decided to make the recipe with the same amount of ingredients listed. I think it turned out wonderful (we like full-flavored food though). I will make again with only 12 cups of tomatoes. I also let it cook over night in the crockpot in hopes that it would make it less watery, and it did. It came out just right to add an 8 oz can of tomato paste and serve when ready. I got 5 quart size freezer containers full from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This sauce is amazing! I was out of parsley and I didn't realize until I was already in the process and it still has great flavor. We added 2 jalapenos and 1/2 red hot cherry bomb pepper. Yum! The recipe says it yields 3 quarts, but my 6.5 quart dutch oven is nearly full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this to try and use up some of the tomatoes we had around. It's a great base recipe that I modified a little to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe is simple and delicious. For a little kick, I added a bit of crushed red pepper. Great for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I was able to use my 4 quart crock pot and it fit just fine. It is a delicious recipe! I only added some mushrooms (about a cup) to the sauce. I put it into a lasagna tonight and my husband (who is a much better cook than I am) really liked it. Thanks so much for the recipe, Stephanie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States