Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I only added about 1/4 tsp salt, and it tasted just fine. I also cut the sugar back by 1/2. You can always add a bit more salt or sugar at the end. Otherwise, with my modifications, it was a good recipe and helped my to use my abundance of garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Instead of chopping all those tomatoes, quarter them and put them in the blender, peel and all. This works great for using up all those cherry tomatoes, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Wonderful! This year was my first time making spaghetti sauce from scratch. After simmering it on the stove-top in my dutch over for over four hours and cracking the lid for a couple of those hours, I ended up with 4 quarts. The only modifications (other than cooking it on the stovetop) were the additions of a cup of red whine, a couple carrots, a 1/2 tsp of dried pepper flakes, and the the use of fresh parsley. It was still a little sweet for me but will adjust for the sweetness later when I take it out of the freezer and prepare it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
You don't have to add tomato paste to thicken it. just add cornstarch whisked with a little cold water...then drizzle the mixture into the hot mixture...it will thicken nicely. This way you don't have the canned tomato paste taste nor the expense of buying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe! I didn't think it was difficult at all! I enjoyed all the chopping. It smells amazing! Love Love Love it! Thank you for such a great freezer sauce recipe, so much easier than canning! Great for our bounty of garden tomatoes! Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I would rate this as EXCEPTIONAL! I made this recipe this summer to use up all the tomatoes we had in our garden as well as the onion, green pepper, basil and parsley. I used my pyrex measuring cup and froze (28oz? same as jar of Prego) into gallon freezer bags. Laid them flat on cookie sheets to freeze and stacked them in the freezer. I am just getting around to reviewing this the following January and I love it more every time I use it. Thank you Stephanie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was really good. I made 8 servings and added a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yummy! I changed it quite a bit... halved the recipe, doubled the tomato paste (since many people said it was watery), added a bay leaf and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. I also sauteed 1 ob of ground beef along with 1 lb mushrooms, 2 onions, and 1 T garlic. I added it all the the crockpot and let simmer on low 4 hours. The flavor was good, but the sauce was still watery, so I transferred it to the stovetop and simmered it uncovered for about 1 hour. I think that thickened it up nicely. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
THE most perfecy spahgetti sauce recipe- such wonderful flavour, even my mother copied the recipe from me! Adding the paste is key when using it to thicken it up. I've used it in chillis, meat sauce or even lasangas and it's perfect. So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is a good, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States