Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was really good. I made 8 servings and added a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Yummy! I changed it quite a bit... halved the recipe, doubled the tomato paste (since many people said it was watery), added a bay leaf and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. I also sauteed 1 ob of ground beef along with 1 lb mushrooms, 2 onions, and 1 T garlic. I added it all the the crockpot and let simmer on low 4 hours. The flavor was good, but the sauce was still watery, so I transferred it to the stovetop and simmered it uncovered for about 1 hour. I think that thickened it up nicely. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
THE most perfecy spahgetti sauce recipe- such wonderful flavour, even my mother copied the recipe from me! Adding the paste is key when using it to thicken it up. I've used it in chillis, meat sauce or even lasangas and it's perfect. So glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is a good, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I've now made 3 batches of this recipe and have enjoyed it on pasta 3 times so far. Even my fiance, who was skeptical that a homemade pasta sauce could trump a store-bought canned version (yuck!) said that this was the best pasta sauce he'd had! I did make a few adjustments: 1) I blanched the tomatoes before chopping them up. I have read a few articles/reviews that keeping the skins on the tomatoes can create a more acidic pasta sauce - and I have a sensitive stomach, so I wanted to avoid making the sauce acidic; 2) I added the tomato paste to the slow cooker (rather than adding it when you are ready to use it, as per the recipe) - and I found that I needed 1 1/4 cans of tomato paste to prevent the sauce from being too runny (my first batch - following the recipe exactly - was too runny for my taste); 3) I halved the recipe since I didn't have enough ripe tomatoes at the time. I kept the sauce meatless to freeze, but when I prepare it for dinner I add browned ground beef (since we prefer our sauce with meat). So although I made adjustments, I still give the recipe 5 stars on taste alone! The amount of herbs and seasoning is just right, and it was a great way for me to use my garden produce & herbs, which makes it even more of a winner in my books! This recipe is a keeper FOR SURE!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I made this yesterday and it was good. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I really was not a fan of the texture. I usually like marinara sauce to be on the chunky side, but this was just...strange. I took a little and put it in the food processor and even that didn't seem to help. It had a great taste though and once I figure out how to alter texture, I'll be making again! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is so easy and great to use up fresh end-of-summer tomatoes. I left out the green pepper because I didn't have any on hand, and the oil to keep it healthier, and it turned out great. I also just threw all into a large stock pot, and simmered down to the thickness I wanted. Then took my hand mixer/chopper and pureed it, adding the paste before freezing. My kitchen smelled like spaghetti sauce for 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Awesome tasting!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Awesome base recipe! Here's what I did to make it (in my opinion) even better! 1) scored, blanched and peeled the tomatoes first 2) In addition to green pepper, added either crushed red pepper or one, hot pepper, seeds removed. 3) Added a ton of fresh basil instead of dried. 4) added tomato paste early on 5) simmered on low in crock pot for 6 to 7 hours. 6) Used immersion blender to smooth out the sauce some before eating or storing. YUM! Thanks, Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great use for garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States