Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have made this recipe for a couple of seasons now. Very easy but takes some time. I make it in a dutch oven on the stove. It's not quite so messy this way. I blanched and peeled my tomatoes first and removed the seeds. It makes for a thicker sauce. I also used a whole head of garlic and added some carrots from my garden. I think this year I will add some zuccini as well. I add the tomato paste before I freeze and I puree the sauce. My family does not like chuncky sauce. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!! Very fresh and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Thought this made a great homemade sauce. I did use fresh basil instead of dried for more flavor. I cooked for 2 1/2 hours then had to put in fridge overnight (it was already 11:00pm) Next day I added tomato paste but had to add almost 2 6oz cans to get it to my own personal desired thickness. Believe this recipe is a great one to tweek to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I make this every few months and it is so worth it! You can't find a jarred sauce at the store that can beat this. Depending on my mood, I will add mushrooms, more garlic, port wine, etc... Sometimes I leave out the meat, whatever our tastes are at the time. It's a very versatile recipe and freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I made and froze this sauce at the end of last summer and I am still using it up. Very good! I also peeled the tomatoes by blanching first. I omitted the green pepper and I simmered for a couple hours on the stove top instead of using a slow cooker. As a previous reviewer noted, I add a 6oz can of tomato paste for each quart when I heat it up. I will definitely use this recipe again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I think that this recipe is PERFECT! I used less salt because someone reveiwed and said too much salt. I used 2 teaspoons salt. I also did not freeze this, I canned it! Worked out wonderfully! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I just realized that I have not reviewed this recipe. We made this spaghetti sauce last summer with fresh veggies from the garden. This was alot easier than some sauce recipes. I do think the sauce is a bit on the runny side but the tomato paste does help a little. I like using the roasted garlic tomato paste for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe! There's nothing like homemade sauce, and I love to utilize my slow cooker as often as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Turned out great - we used up the fresh tomatoes from the garden, red instead of green peppers (since that's what we grew in the garden too) and added some extra red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit, but other than that we followed the recipe as it was. We also added a big can of tomato paste before freezing and the sauce defrosted perfectly! Thanks so much for this great, easy, and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Used my garden veggies for this and followed the recipe exactly. Then I canned in (I'm running out of freezer space). Opened a jar last night to make spaghetti and my husband couldn't believe it was my homemade sauce. We all LOVED it!! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Really was very good. Been looking for a good fresh tomato recipe and this was it. Even my very picky husband agreed. Will keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States