Steel-Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I did make a few substitutions in this recipe due to milk allergies/dietary restrictions/using what I had on hand. I used lactose-free milk, chopped pecans instead of cashews, I increased the craisins/coconut (I did use unsweetened coconut) and I used two packets of Truvia instead of granulated white sugar (I stirred the Truvia into the oatmeal before serving). This was INCREDIBLE. The kids and I LOVED this oatmeal--for me, it was like having dessert for breakfast. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
So so good. Creamy, delicious and nutritious. I also made them vegan. I make a big batch monday and enjoy it all week long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POKAHONTAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is delicious. I had a bowl this morning with a fresh peach. I didn't have any cashews so substituted pecans nor did I have any coconut. I did add some flax seed at the end of the cooking time to make it even more nutritious. I made the recipe for four and will be having this for breakfast for the next three mornings it appears. Again delicious! UPDATE: I made up another batch and found a suggestion on the www. that you can freeze individual servings in cupcake wrappers and nuke them for a couple minutes, stir and 30 seconds or more. I now have several individual servings that I can utilize when in a hurry (or not) in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have made this several times. It is awesome!! I followed the recipe closely, except I added some cranberries and some raisins. Good Stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I like a really creamy oatmeal so I used 3 cups of milk and 1 cup of water. I left out the cashews. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My husband ate 3 of the 4 servings he liked it so well. He actually makes a granola with a lot of the same ingredients. I was skeptical of adding the cashews and almost left them out but they added a surprisingly good taste to the oatmeal. Followed the original recipe except started with 4 cups of liquid (3 water and 1 vanilla almond milk). Hearty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This oatmeal had a great flavor, my family just wasn't really fond of the texture. We prefer it more "mushy". :) I've made steel cut oats overnight in the slow cooker before, and that gave us the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Sooooo goood! I like to keep the calorie count as low as possible so I eliminate cooking with milk but when serving I add a little Sugar Free Hazelnut coffee creamer. I like to alternate with different nuts, walnuts being my favorite, but pecans are also great... and same with fruit. It's delicious with fresh blueberries, peaches, apples and cinnamon or raisins, cranberries etc. It's great for breakfast when family is visiting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynznest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I like to sweeten the oatmeal at the end with a little maple syrup. A trick to cut down the cook time is to boil the water and pour it over the oat grout the evening prior. Let it set covered overnight and it should only take 10-15 minutes max to cook in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this for a teacher's breakfast at my children's school. It was a huge hit! So many asked for the recipe and gave me compliments. Thank you for posting this recipe! My changes: I under cooked the oats as I needed to transport this in a crock pot and keep it on low at the breakfast. Also I kept out the coconut, cashews, cranberries and sugar. I used those as toppings so the teacher's could individualize their own oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States