Steel-Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe!!! I love it!!! It is very warm and filling great on cold mornings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe, I used lactose free milk, splenda and a hint of Splenda brown sugar. Doubled the recipe for the family. Had plenty left over, refrigerated...microwaved the next day. It was just as amazing. Great texture, maybe difficult for someone that has a hard time eating nuts, even without the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Super yummy! Even my kids liked it. I soaked the oats overnight to cut down on the cooking time in the morning. To cook, add all the ingredients bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. I then let it rest for five minutes to soak up the extra liquid. Instead of cashews, I used sliced almonds and maple syrup instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Just made this, it was very good!! The one extra thing I added was some ground Chia seed I had on hand and then a bit of maple syrup to finish it off. Love that I'm going to have leftovers all week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Just made this for my daughter who's home sick from school. I omitted the milk and cashews, but added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the mixture and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemeees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I always like lots of junk in my ice cream/cereal/food, so this is perfect. I subbed raisins and pecans for the cranberries and cashews. Halved the recipe as well and ended up with a single serving I couldn't finish. This is a hearty, stick-with-ya breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made a few changes: added pumpkin pie spice along with the cinnamon, 1 TB chia seeds and 1 TB flax seed. Used almond milk instead of regular milk and omitted the nuts since my son doesn't like them. I sprinkled pomegranate seeds on top for added crunch. Didn't put any sugar in it and it was delicious. Everyone loved this! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was super yummy! This was only my second time making steel cut oats (the first time I made them, I was not impressed - but thought I'd give this recipe a try to see if I could change my mind). It worked! I did use 2 cups of almond milk and 1-1/2 cups water. I also used slivered almonds instead of the cashews (because that's what I had on-hand). I served mine over a fresh chopped peach, garnished with a few more slivered almonds and a sprinkling of brown sugar. It was delicious AND filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I thought this was pretty good and I loved the suggestion about freezing it in cupcake liners for those days when you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
One of the most important things you need to do is to toast the oatmeal first in a dry pan. Ooooh, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States