Steel-Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Just made this for my daughter who's home sick from school. I omitted the milk and cashews, but added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the mixture and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi Dotson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I always like lots of junk in my ice cream/cereal/food, so this is perfect. I subbed raisins and pecans for the cranberries and cashews. Halved the recipe as well and ended up with a single serving I couldn't finish. This is a hearty, stick-with-ya breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made a few changes: added pumpkin pie spice along with the cinnamon, 1 TB chia seeds and 1 TB flax seed. Used almond milk instead of regular milk and omitted the nuts since my son doesn't like them. I sprinkled pomegranate seeds on top for added crunch. Didn't put any sugar in it and it was delicious. Everyone loved this! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This was super yummy! This was only my second time making steel cut oats (the first time I made them, I was not impressed - but thought I'd give this recipe a try to see if I could change my mind). It worked! I did use 2 cups of almond milk and 1-1/2 cups water. I also used slivered almonds instead of the cashews (because that's what I had on-hand). I served mine over a fresh chopped peach, garnished with a few more slivered almonds and a sprinkling of brown sugar. It was delicious AND filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I thought this was pretty good and I loved the suggestion about freezing it in cupcake liners for those days when you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
One of the most important things you need to do is to toast the oatmeal first in a dry pan. Ooooh, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Made this without the nuts (can't have them) and part of them milk was substitute with greek yogurt. At the end it seemed really thick so I added a splash of orange juice and instead of the sugar I drizzled it with a small amount of honey. YUM! Glad that there are leftovers for breakfast tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gardeski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Wow, I loved this recipe. I use rice milk in place of dairy. And I didn't have any cranberries. It was delicious. I do love the texture of steel cut oatmeal, and adding cashews and coconut added a lot of texture and taste. Perfection! I made a full batch and took another reviewer's suggestion to freeze portions in cupcake holders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Love this recipe. Great base to sub in any fruit and nuts on hand. Today I chopped up an apple and threw it in at the 10-minutes left mark. I have made this with pears, dried cherries and pepitas as well. I go for a dollop of brown sugar at the end. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Soooo good. I'm officially converted to steel-cut oats! Keeps me full for longer than any other kind of breakfast. I used chopped walnuts, coconut, and raisins, with a bit of brown sugar. Even my 2 year old ate the whole bowl and asked for more! This keeps for a long time in the fridge too, so you can make a big pot and just re-heat small portions all week for a fast breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States