Steamed Tuna Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I have only seen tuna steaks once, so I use this recipe on seared salmon (filets on medium high heat for 4-6 minutes on each side in canola oil). It is perfect. I use 3 tbsp. of ginger and any old red wine that happens to be open, but otherwise follow it perfectly. My family loves it! So easy and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Agree with other people about not using too much ginger. Followed the rest of the recipe the exact way and it was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe is good, and very easy, and I love that it's so good for ou too! However, I suggest that you don't use all the ginger that is recomended. I used a little Merlot instead of Sherry, and it still wasn't very sweet at all. Next time I might try adding some honey, or maybe peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I've just come across this recipe and will definitely be trying it for dinner 2nite,, mainly because as a fellow Micronesian from the island of Pohnpei,, it is such a pleasant surprise to come across a Kosraean cook on here...Kudos Janice and Happy Cooking:D:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Absolutely Amazing!! Ended up having to use ginger powder instead of fresh ginger but it was still wonderful. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had some frozen tuna steaks given to us by a local fisherman. I took them out today, and had NO idea how to cook them. I found this recipe, but couldn't go to the store to get the missing ingredients so.... I "made do". No sherry. No problem; I added a tablespoon of brown sugar to merlot. No green onion, so I substituted a yellow onion, finely chopped. I used powdered ginger. I did not add additional salt, per other reviews. Another reviewer mentioned wrapping everything in foil and baking for 30 minutes. BINGO - just what I was looking for. I put the very thick steaks into my large stainless steel frying pan, poured the sauce over, and baked at 350 for about 40 minutes. OH MY GOSH. It was some of the best fish any of us have ever had. I'm keeping the weirdly altered recipe because hubby says "Don't change a THING."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very good. I didn't have ginger root so I substituted 1 tsp ginger powder. I also omitted the salt per the other reviews. To steam it I lined a 13x9 glass pan with foil. I laid the fish down and poured the marinade on top. I folded all the loose edges in and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used tilapia instead of tuna and it turned out great. Based on other reviewers, I did not add any salt on top of the soy sauce. I also put mushrooms with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The sauce for this tuna is delicious. I also cut the ginger in half and left out the extra salt. With these modifications, the sauce turned out very well. My husband and neighbors loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States