Steamed Radishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
WOW! was the first word out of my mouth when I tasted one. The radish tasted like a slightly spicy cauliflower. Very good! I used my Tupperware steamer in the microwave and it took the 8 mins as the recipe stated. I checked them at 3 min intervals twice and then just did 2 more minutes. Some of the radishes were done at 6 mins, but I just left them in the steamer. I normally do not eat radishes, but I received 6 1lb bags for free so I thought I try to do something with them. This is it! I will definitely be eating more radishes and will need to plant some in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phillip344

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winfield, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
So, I steamed red and white radishes. Dabbed with some butter, sea salt and pepper. That's IT. And they're REALLY good. Radishes are okay, and I like them because they're good for me. But steaming them made them much more pallettable and I will definitely do this again! What a low calorie side dish! You can easily sub butter, I'm sure with an oil of your choosing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Surprisingly very good! I cut them before steaming them, as I don't see the need to peel them and added salt to the water. They resemble the flavor of turnips and could easily be made in to "mock-tatoes" for low carb dieters. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Bressi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These totally don't taste spicy like radishes anymore. They taste more like steamed broccoli stem. I would recommend cutting larger radishes in half (several of them exploded in the microwave). I had a regular-size bunch of radishes and decreased the cooking time by half, but I would cut it down to maybe 3 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
What a suprise, I think radishes were ment to be steamed from the begining. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was great! I have a steamer that didn't quite want to work that night, so I did it over the stove. I'll add my own seasoning next time. And there will definitly be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I had some radishes that were even too hot for me to eat raw & tried your recipe. This took all of the "hotness" out of them & they were very good. Will make the rest of them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I had no idea you could steam radishes! I cut mine in half, steamed steamed them on the stove, added butter and salt and it was wonderful! My 10 year old gobbled them up faster than anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This recipe doesn't mention that the radishes will blow off the dish's cover in their attempts to escape the microwave-safe dish and tinge the inside of your oven pink. Other than that, I liked this treatment of radishes. I added salt, butter and lemon juice and enjoyed these much more than I've ever enjoyed them raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilysometimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States