Steamed Mussels with Fennel, Tomatoes, Ouzo, and Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
sort of tried the recipe - i left out the Cream and replaced it with water, didn't have any fennel or ouzo or shallots - so those were left out - but did add fresh dill, chives and basil from the garden and vadalia onion instead of the shallots. a fresh tomato from the garden and fresh mussels made a great dish - I ate the whole two pounds!!mmwill definitely make this again - I may try the shallots and fennel next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I added chorizo to give the recipe a little depth and kick. After sauteeing the fennel, scallions, and garlic until the fennel was soft, I added the tomato and 1/2 lb. of chorizo and fully cooked the chorizo before adding the remaining ingredients. I omitted the ouzo, doubled the white wine to replace it, and used light half-and-half instead of cream. I served with crostini and salad. All in all an eye-catching dish that was a big hit for Sunday night dinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Good recipe although I tweaked it a bit. Instead of fennel, I used capers. I also added three tbs butter and eliminated the salt since the capers add some. The ouzo was a great addition and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
YUM! I've been looking for recipes that come close to "Mussels in Love" from a little restaurant in Charlottetown, PEI, called Sirenella's - this is certainly close! The first time we ate there, we kept mopping up the sauce with bread - we wanted to order more and cancel our entrees they were so good! To those who worry about the Ouzo... Fear not, it will NOT overpower the dish! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Amazing and easy to make!!!! I ran out of fennel once and it's not the same. Make sure you have fennel! I also added a bit of butter to bring out aroma more. One tip I have is that once the mussels have opened, remove the pot from the heat immediately. That way, your mussels don't get overcooked (as they can do so very quickly!) and become tough! I like mine juicy and plump, so I cook them just till they pop open and eat immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Made this last night, as I had the fennel in my fridge, and needed to build a meal around it! Crazy, huh? Well, I am sooo happy I tried this recipe, instead of my regular way of making mussels. The only thing I did different, was to use Sambuca instead of Ouzo, as that was what I had on hand. Every one loved this! My hubby was very skeptical, but wound up going back 3 times! :D I can't wait to make this for guests! Thank you so much for sharing what will be a huge fave in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grobiegirl1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Absolutely Spectacular !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe. I skinned the tomatoes and substituted fresh terragon for ouzo. My new favorite shellfish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Whole family loved these. I didn't have Ouzo and didn't use the wine. Replaced both with water and turned out wonderful. Will add the wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Ah-mazing. Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States