Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I cook mussels like this all the time with just a couple of adjustments. Another reviewer said he/she would cook the mussels with plain water and pour the sauce over them, but you would loose all the lovely mussel "liquor" that comes with the cooking of them. To thicken the sauce, boil it down a little before adding the mussels, and afterwards, add a little heavy cream and boil it down more, while keeping the mussels warm, under a damp cloth in a low oven. Works like a charm and you don't loose any flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This is the recipe I have used for years, and it is really excellent. I like this version better than most of the variations suggested by other reviewers, although I have added garlic on some occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This is a pretty good recipe. I think I would put more butter in the sauce, and I would also add garlic. Next time I will make the sauce on the side and let it thicken up a bit, steam the mussels with regular water, and pour the sauce over the cooked mussles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is a wonderful, simple recipe. I probably used a little extra butter and shallots, and I added garlic (do it!) and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also tossed in a pinch of kosher salt to help sweat the shallots and garlic. I didn't really measure my ingredients, and I think the key was to not overdo the wine. It can make the broth too sweet. And DO NOT use a grocery isle "cooking wine." Use a real dry wine like sauvignon blanc or chardonnay. Also, I kept an eye on my mussels, and they all opened after about THREE minutes. I HIGHLY recommend taking the mussels off the heat as soon as they open. Once they open, they're DONE. They were SO tender, and melted in my mouth. Five minutes would have made them chewy. My friends tonight said they were the best mussels they've ever had! I was inclined to agree :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very nice, used a little more shallots than what the recipe said. Served over linguine. Husband loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floripa5548

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Delicious and quick! Used 1 lb. of mussels instead (since I was cooking for one) and had more than enough for two meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGEE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is pretty good, and SUPER simple. I haven't spent a lot of time cooking mussels, and I knew I wanted butter and white wine. This was perfect. I took the advice of another reviewer and added an additional tablespoon of butter. I can see adding garlic to this too. We served it on top of a bed of linguine - great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vrgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These mussels were great and so simple. I substituted cilantro for the parsely. It was amazing! I also added some cream to thicken it up a bit. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Quick and easy. I made this last night as an appetizer for my husband's Valentine meal. I couldn't eat any because of a seafood allergy but the smell was divine. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This recipe was equisite. The muscles were extrememly tender and the juices were definately worthy of dipping with crusty bread. No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States