Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I live in Alaska and get mussels all the time and this is pretty much how we cook them. Just wonderful. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent and Easy! I added minced garlic and it was absolutely wonderful. Served with Asiago cheese bread with olive oil and balsamic dipping sauce, and a nice asian salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Domer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This will become one of our favorite recipes in our house. I made it as an appetizer tonight, but will make as a main dish maybe over pasta next time. The crusty bread dipped in the juice is addictive, also. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNALU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These are so easy and they are incredibly tasty. Been using this one for years. Good over pasta too. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is a wonderful, simple recipe. I probably used a little extra butter and shallots, and I added garlic (do it!) and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also tossed in a pinch of kosher salt to help sweat the shallots and garlic. I didn't really measure my ingredients, and I think the key was to not overdo the wine. It can make the broth too sweet. And DO NOT use a grocery isle "cooking wine." Use a real dry wine like sauvignon blanc or chardonnay. Also, I kept an eye on my mussels, and they all opened after about THREE minutes. I HIGHLY recommend taking the mussels off the heat as soon as they open. Once they open, they're DONE. They were SO tender, and melted in my mouth. Five minutes would have made them chewy. My friends tonight said they were the best mussels they've ever had! I was inclined to agree :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Very good, but it does need a tablespoon more of butter. I used garlic instead of shallots and it was so tasty. Dip some baguette bread in the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made this and it was delicious! The only adjustment that I made was that I diced one medium sized tomato and added it with the wine and mussels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I decided to try this recipe after seeing that Wegman's was selling 2lb bags of mussels for $4.99/bag (though, at 7 days old, I was skeptical if any recipe could outweigh the age of my seafood.) Much to my surprise, the addition of an extra tablespoon of butter, a minced glove of garlic, and a dash of cream to thicken the broth, really brought these week-old mussels to life. Definitely going to continue using this. Such an easy, quick, and filling meal, especially when coupled with a fresh baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
nothing can be finer..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States