Steamed Mussels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These came out perfect. Recipe worked exactly as stated and oh what a fantastic flavor. Only suggestion is that I added in a pinot gricio instead of what the recipe called for. I think either would have produced the desired flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Very fine, simple recipe. I omitted the shallots, but added rough chopped onions and celery. I liked the faint butter flavor. This one goes into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Good recipe but we tweaked it a bit. We used more butter, decreased the parsley by 1/2 and put sweet basil in it's place. We also added a couple of Tbsp's of half & half at the end to thicken it up. All in all it was a good base recipe but it definitely needed a few little tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made this recipe with just a few adjustments. I used minced garlic instead of the shallot. I also used significantly more butter than the recipe called for (probably 2-3 times more), and I added a couple tablespoons of milk to make the sauce a little "creamier." It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I incorporated all the suggestions. I used a stick of butter, 1/3 cup shallots and 1/2 teas of herbes. Reduced liquid, added mussels, removed mussels, added 1/2 cup of half and half, boiled one minute, returned mussels and thoroughly enjoyed! A new family favorite. Great sopping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very nice, used a little more shallots than what the recipe said. Served over linguine. Husband loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floripa5548

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
YAWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This recipe turned ou really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I made this for my husband for his birthday as I don't eat fish. He absolutley looooooved it!!! He wishes his birthday was everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These mussels were great and so simple. I substituted cilantro for the parsely. It was amazing! I also added some cream to thicken it up a bit. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States