Steamed Mussels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was a great basic recipe! Although I adjusted the garlic:mussel ratio. I had 2 pounds of mussels and used 4-5 cloves (garlic lover here) of garlic and a chopped medium white onion. I also added 1 Tbls of butter and juice of 1/2 a lemon. It came out EXCELLENT. Thank You! PS: Allrecipes.com wouldnt allow me to upload a picture due tothe requirements! Oh well, steamed mussels what more can u show :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
if you add a cup of single cream just before serving this inproves this dish and gives it more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Couldn't be easier or more delicious. I'll be using this recipe again and again. It was fun to listen to the mussels popping open in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahjongg Jana
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is a great base recipe for steaming mussels. I used mine in a salad and seasoned the greens with lemon, sea salt, pepper, and fresh parsley. I think the mussels could be bland on their own, but nice to add to another dish. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Simmered onion in a small amount of butter until translucent. Added garlic and a little apple juice for sweetness just before adding mussels. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good basic reciept
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I was excited to make the mussels, but they turned out as a big disapointment. The mussels turned out flavorless and just really bland. It was truly missing other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was easy and delicious. It was just hard to keep warm while waiting for the rest of dinner to finish, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States