Steamed Mashed Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Having read the other reviews, I added a couple potatoes to the cauliflower. I boiled the potatoes separately and microwaved the Cauliflower. I put the cauliflower in the processor and mashed well, then loosely mashed the potatoes separately adding butter, garlic, & sour cream. Then I added the mashed cauliflower. It was actually delicious. My husband loves mashed potatoes and I don't think he would have known detected the difference if I hadn't told him. Without the potatoes, I thought the mashed cauliflower texture was a little off-putting. Since we don't really like the taste of cauliflower, I'm always looking for new ways to mask the taste because of the health benefits. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this for my husband and he loved it. I added a pinch of black pepper, onion powder and garlic powder for a little kick. This was sooo easy to make! I will make it with different cheeses next time to experiment. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I liked the taste and texture. I may try to add garlic and onion powder to spiff up some tasting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilbretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I liked this recipe for a quick, easy way to cook cauliflower and get to pretend I am eating mashed potatoes. This is less fattening and contains less cholesterol AND is very filling. I like the added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I make this all the time! My husband even prefers it to the Carb Loaded potatoes. I add a teaspoon of Brown Gravy Powder, 1/2 tsp Onion Powder and 1/2 tsp Garlic Powder to it for that real potato flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlealien1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Selva Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
You don't need a head of fresh cauliflower. Frozen florets work fine. I don't use goat cheese, but fat-free (or low-fat) cream cheese instead. I also add a few herbs and minced onion when microwaving the cauliflower. We love it, but I wouldn't necessarily call it a true substitute for mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I wouldn't say that this recipe gives something that tastes like mashed potatoes, but it make delicious cauliflower! I love goat cheese, and you can really taste it in this dish. I saute 3 cloves of garlic in 2 tsp of butter and added that and it was really good. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I have made a version of this with cream cheese but I will have to try it with the goat cheese. It will be a healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good but looked nothing like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Ok, not amazing. Added some roasted garlic which helped a lot. Think adding a potato would help it as well! Going to try again with a few revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Cauliflower Sheep

Garnish the kids’ plates with too cute cauliflower sheep.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States