Steamed Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Based on reviews and other recipes, I pulled together various modifications. Had three 5 oz lobsters. Added 2 tsp crab boil to water. Cut back of shell w/scissors lengthwise down middle, but did not butterfly. I inserted wood skewers lengthwise through lobster. This kept them from curling/turning over while steaming. The cut shell made it easier to remove shell and eat while still hot. Removed the thin digestive track ("vein")along length of the back. Loved the clarified butter. Steamed lobsters for 7 minutes. Perfect and tender. However, my lobsters were quite cold from defrosting, and the steam was low. In the future, when they are at room temp and with better steam, I will try 6 min. We saved the shells and steaming water in slow cooker and let cook 4 hrs on low. Smells amazing and am anxious to make a seafood chowder with this base. Thanks to Nancy and all who gave suggestions. I did consider putting lemon and garlic (love them) in the steaming water, but I enjoyed the pure flavor of lobster meat. Will not add them in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
did not make any changes. The lobster came out great. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Mine only took 6 minutes to cook. However overall this dish is great! From reading others suggestions I also added a tablespoon of garlic and butter to the water. We will be having this meal again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
i removed the underneath part of the tail, sprinkled them with Old Bay Seasoning and steamed them (belly up) for only 7 minutes, based on other's suggestions. I also put lemon slices in the water...they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe & they came out perfect! Simple and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kdwebb22@gmail.com
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Agree with other comments about timing- I used 5 minutes (no peeking) they were 2 perfect succulent delicious lobster tails! Also added 1/4 cup white vinegar to water to enhance flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I put some lemon and a clove of garlic in the water, streamed for 7 minutes. PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Baca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Super Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Needed this recipe mainly for timing. Works perfectly. My only addition is to add minced garlic to water that I steam the lobsters with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These made a delicious addition to my Mother's Day celebration. (You're never too old to spoil your mom). On the advise of another reviewer, I added garlic to the water and butter. Mom declared her lamb chop and lobster tail dinner a flawless triumph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caloriecounter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States