Steamed Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was my first time making lobster tails. They turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Vicker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Nice and simple to make, since I used two 4 oz lobster tails, I cooked them only for 7 minutes...still a little over cooked though. I substituted the sea salt with Old Bay seasoning. I will definitely give this another shot and try steaming for only 5 minutes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hypnoticangel22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Made these for our Valentines Dinner tonight! Very easy and cooked my tails perfectly!.. I served with Old Bay seasoned butter. Thanks for the tip of using a kabob skewer through the middle; they didn't curl up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
A very simple, yet tasty recipe. Be very careful to not overcook, or else they'll get rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this for my husband and he loved it (I don't eat lobster). I took the advice of others and cut the time down to 5 minutes. I have made this twice now and it has turned out perfect both times. I also threaded the lobster with a short skewer to prevent any curling and added a garlic clove to the water as others suggested. Thanks so much for posting this recipe for us land lubbers who know little about cooking seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
First time making lobster tails and the hubby was impressed! :) Researched and found that steaming was more recommended than broiling. I tried to butterfly them but the shell was too hard to pull back! At least for me. I cut the time to 6 minutes per reviews and turned out great. Served with clarified butter. Great for the first time trying! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Easiest way ever to fix lobster tails! I added some lemon juice to the salted water, and steamed 2 - 4-oz. tails for 5 minutes- perfect! I cut the shells before steaming, and they were pretty easy to take off. GreAt method - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've tried doing Lobster tails on the bbq many times with varying degrees of success. After reading this recipe I decided to give it a try and these were the best tasting and easiest Lobster tails I've ever made. Thanks for taking the time to post this Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Good basic method -- and the skewers are a great idea as another rater suggested. Beware, however, we had 2 1-lb tails. I put them in a big steamer pot but on a small burner. When the water came to boil, I put the lobster tails in but lost a lot of heat. So 6 minutes turned into about 12 -- and not until I realized I needed the big burner. I felt like they might be rubbery, but they turned out great despite my mistake. Thanks for this easy method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
If your not used to cooking lobster tails, steaming is definitely the way to go:) I also butterfly the tails and lay the meat on top. Very pretty presentation. (do this before steaming, broiling or baking) Rule of thumb is usually 1 to 1 min. 30 sec. per ounce. Another option is to take them out of the steamer 1-2min. early and finish up in a broiler pan to get some light browning on top- be very careful not to overcook. I serve using clarified butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States