Steamed Fish with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DHANO923
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was great! I steamed the halibut in my bamboo steamer for about 12 minutes, then mixed the sauces and oils together and poured them over the fish, instead of heating the oil separately. I covered it again and let it steam for another 2 minutes. Served with rice and sauteed ong choy with shiitake mushrooms. Everyone asked for seconds! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make this with swai, which is very cheap in the frozen section. I don't add any salt, as the shoyu (soy sauce) has plenty. Serve with brussel sprouts and brown rice to feel good about yourself and your day :) Always impressive for something that takes very little time & effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Maybe the fish but it was halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Didnt think I would be able to, but I did it! Thanks to the ppl who commented before, I didnt have a steamer so I used their ideas, I was missing a couple ingredients so I tweaked it a bit.. but it was great! I impressed myself and now I want to try it for my friends. It was simple and easy and delish! So for anybody who is interested I couldnt find peanut oil so I steamed the onion, ginger, and cilantro all with the fish (used tilapia) that I seasoned with black pepper and salt, after it was done, I warmed the sesame and soy and poured it over the fish, Amazing and I ate with steamed broccoli and sweet potatoes..Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
so easy. insanely good. i made this with thick (2.5-3 inch) wild cod fillets, which steamed for 12 minutes. (perhaps could have done them for 10, and let them sit, as they continued to cook afterwards and got a bit firm). did not have peanut oil, which was fine. also did 1 tb dark soy and 1 tb braggs amino acids. amazing, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Amazing dish and very quick. Asparagus is a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
So glad I found this recipe -- my Chinese grandmother used to prepare fish this way, and it was always one of my favorite dishes in her repertoire. I took a page from her book and just microwaved the fish until it flaked nicely, and it still tasted wonderful :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This really is a very authentic Asian style cooking of fish! Reminded me of my mom cooking in the kitchen when in was growing up...and she's aboutmas authentic as you get! Very tasty, my husband love, love , loved it! And it's a very healthy dish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This recipe was so delicious! I can't wait to make it again. I used only light soy sauce since that was all I had and omitted the sea salt and the cilantro and it was still amazing. I think I'll be steaming fish a lot more now since this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States