Steamed Fish with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
A very tasty, easy-to-prepare dish with a knockout presentation.I served this on a bed of savoy cabbage and got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuitarChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A surprise hit with my two finicky sons and husband. Very simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
A very easy and delicious way to prepare almost any fish. I had never steamed fish before and wow - it was very moist and so flavorful. For me, the peanut oil seemed unnecessary so I used only the sesame oil and only regular (low sodium) soy. This will become a staple for us! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My family loved this!! I followed another reviewers advice and put my ceramic dish into a large covered skillet with water since I did not have a steamer. I also used two different types of sesame oil since I did not have peanut oil on hand. And I used regular onions in place of green onions. Even so, this dish was awesome!! It was quick and easy. Next time I will try to have the right things on hand to see if it tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was great. Instead of pouring heated oil over the fish at the end, I mixed it with the soy sauce warmed it (not to the point that it smoked) and poured it on once the fish was cooked. I hate it when oil splatters and this avoided that mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
YUM!!! We tried something new for the Chinese New Year and it's now a favorite of ours. I left out the peanut oil because I didn't have it and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is so easy to make and tastes delicious. I didn't use the peanut oil due to food allergies - I just used more seasame oil. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe. What a healthy, simple, quick dish. Even my picky 5 yr old devoured it and asked for 2nds. My 4 yr old who proclaimed he only will eat salmon also couldn't get enough and said, "I guess I like halibut, too." For busy moms who are looking for a fresh, healthy, quick meal - put this one in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was my most successful fish dish ever. And I tried it for the first time with company, who raved. I didn't have a steamer large enough to handle servings for 6. So, I improvised with a large, deep frying pan with 3" water, an ovenproof ramekin in the center to support a Pyrex dish containing the fish and ginger above the water, and covering all with a lid. This worked pretty well. Fish was very tasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This dish came out perfectly! I followed the recipe but used striped bass as I like a lighter fish. This was a hit at our Chinese New Year party this year. Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My husband licked his plate clean...literally. Did not change a thing (except how I steamed it without a steamer using various items found around the house. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States