Steamed Fish with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was great. Instead of pouring heated oil over the fish at the end, I mixed it with the soy sauce warmed it (not to the point that it smoked) and poured it on once the fish was cooked. I hate it when oil splatters and this avoided that mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was my most successful fish dish ever. And I tried it for the first time with company, who raved. I didn't have a steamer large enough to handle servings for 6. So, I improvised with a large, deep frying pan with 3" water, an ovenproof ramekin in the center to support a Pyrex dish containing the fish and ginger above the water, and covering all with a lid. This worked pretty well. Fish was very tasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This definitely tasted authentic to me. Very easy to make, and nice flavours. I don't have a bamboo steamer (or any other kind of steamer) so here is what I did- I filled the bottom of a large pot with water, then put a bowl in the water. Then I placed the plate with fish on it on the bowl (about 3cm above the water level) and put the lid on the pot. There you have it, the easiest home made steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is so easy to make and tastes delicious. I didn't use the peanut oil due to food allergies - I just used more seasame oil. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe. What a healthy, simple, quick dish. Even my picky 5 yr old devoured it and asked for 2nds. My 4 yr old who proclaimed he only will eat salmon also couldn't get enough and said, "I guess I like halibut, too." For busy moms who are looking for a fresh, healthy, quick meal - put this one in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Caution: First, steam fish, drain plate of water completely, then cut 2" scallion lengthwise very thin, ginger likewise in 2" long thin matchstick size and scatter over fish. Heat oil and pour over scallion, ginger, and fish. NOW pour on soy sauce. Pouring 400+ degree oil into water-based liquid is a recipe for disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
YUM!!! We tried something new for the Chinese New Year and it's now a favorite of ours. I left out the peanut oil because I didn't have it and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My family loved this!! I followed another reviewers advice and put my ceramic dish into a large covered skillet with water since I did not have a steamer. I also used two different types of sesame oil since I did not have peanut oil on hand. And I used regular onions in place of green onions. Even so, this dish was awesome!! It was quick and easy. Next time I will try to have the right things on hand to see if it tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My husband licked his plate clean...literally. Did not change a thing (except how I steamed it without a steamer using various items found around the house. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dory C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This is excellent. This recipe also works well with Chilean sea bass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
A surprise hit with my two finicky sons and husband. Very simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States