Steamed Fish with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Outstanding - I had to improvise on the steaming option too but it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Wow, this is SUCH a tasty dish!!! I did almost exactly what the recipe said except I only had dark soy sauce so I doubled it, and no peanut oil, so I doubled the sesame oil. Also, I had no fresh cilantro on hand, so I used the dried version. The taste is indescribable, this is definitely a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great! I put the sesame oil on the fish and soy sauce in with the oil instead of on the fish. next time, i'll put the green onions in the oil / soy sauce mix too, since the green onions didn't pop. easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I am just learning to cook, and am always looking for restaurant quality experiences at home. I don't like to eat anything unless it's very flavourful, so no standard meat and potato meals for us! My husband and i found this to be scrumptious. I didn't find it too salty, perhaps because I used reduced salt soy sauce. I paired it with Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce, also from this site. It was the perfect complement. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamsicle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This had a really nice flavor. I read all of the reviews first and heated the oil and soy together to avoid the splattering. The one drawback in my opinion is that it was really salty. Rubbing both sides of the fish with kosher salt and then pouring soy over the finished fish was a little excessive. Maybe next time I'll salt only one side or verrrrrry lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This definitely tasted authentic to me. Very easy to make, and nice flavours. I don't have a bamboo steamer (or any other kind of steamer) so here is what I did- I filled the bottom of a large pot with water, then put a bowl in the water. Then I placed the plate with fish on it on the bowl (about 3cm above the water level) and put the lid on the pot. There you have it, the easiest home made steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Outstanding! This was a nice diversion from the normal lemon/salt/butter/pepper fish I normally make. The fresh ginger really makes it special. I probably could have done with a little more sliced onions but that's the only thing I would change. I broiled it since I didn't have a bamboo basket. This was terrific with rice and carrots. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I heated the oil until it was just barely starting to smoke, because I was worried about setting off the fire alarm and waking my landlord (the alarm is sensitive). Still very yummy, though maybe less crispy, gave it 4 stars because I found it a tad salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was delicious! Used swai instead of halibut (cheaper, and much tastier IMO) Definitely a keeper, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this with Tilapia. My husband, who is not a fan of seafood (fish in particular), ate it AND complimented it. It was SO easy and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xuan2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States