Steamed Egg (Chawan Mushi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Meowz
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is very similar to the traditional recipe I know of. The key of steaming eggs is to keep the heat at medium low or low to obtain a smooth surface. I also lay shrimps and ginkgo nuts when the surface is set and steam for about 7 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I have been looking for chawan mushi recipe and never got it correct. This is the first time i made it right. Thank you. The recipe is wonderful, the texture just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I also decreased the amount of broth by half and the steam eggs were perfectly creamy and soft. Be sure to cook it gently over medium low heat. Instead of the mushroom, I added in kernels of cooked corn and minced chicken (raw is fine). I also added a touch of sesame oil. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This is the first time i try steaming egg, the recipes is excellent. The ratio is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I took the advice of those who reduced the broth, but I had no cooked chicken breast. What I did have was leftover lamb and it was FANTASTIC (I figure most any egg dish is essentially an omelet to toss in what you wish anyway). No steamer so I inverted a couple of ramekins into the water to raise the egg filled ones off of the bottom of the bottom of the pot to make sure it was cooking with steam and not direct contact with the heating element. Just like advertised, it came out light, aromatic and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csm-dad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Simple, easy and taste terrific. What else can you ask for? I substituted the chicken with shrimp and came out even betteR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
it's the most healtier food expecially for people want to diet. Likewise like me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
awesome comfort food. Better to invest in good prawns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Amazing, even as a 3 ingredient dish: egg, chicken broth, and dash of Taiwanese Rice Wine rather than sake. The texture as is was perfect... soft and silky. Can't wait to make this again with shiitake mushrooms and prawns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
My kids love it and complimented that I made it more nicer than the Jap restaurant. Will make this often and share with everybody who loves cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States