Steamed Cranberry Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This has been my family recipe for 50 years too! If you want to have flaming pudding, be sure the pudding is warm or the brandy won't flame. As I recall, you can pour it on the warm pudding and light it, or put it in a long-handled spoon or ladle, light, and pour onto the pudding flaming. We always cut the cranberries in half (easier to cut if frozen). I steamed it in the top half of my double boiler (stainless) with aluminum foil tightly wrapped on top. I then put that into a large covered dutch oven pan with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe has been in my family for over 50 years -- every year it is a given at Christmas or Thanksgiving meal. This is the first time I have ever seen the recipe in print other than my own!! It makes a beautiful presentation on china plate with holly and cranberries around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a great Christmas pudding (in the British sense of a heavy, steamed cake, not in the American sense of a custard-y treat). It's tart, heavy, and molasses-y - the cranberries make a nice contrast to the heavy batter and IMHO are a big improvement on plum or raisin puddings. I don't have a steamer mold, so I used a greased ring mold, covered with tinfoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm so pleased to have found this recipe. First, I'd like to say I've never made a steamed pudding of any kind before and was looking forward to trying something like this. I have imagined a bite of the pudding in "Scrooge" that sounds so delectable to the anticipation of the "Cratchit family" in story. I followed this recipe precisely...even down to the whole cranberries and am I ever glad I did. Perfect, but you must have the warm sauce to pour over. This may appeal to perhaps a more grown-up palate, but maybe not though. * Warning this is very rich and I can see why people make it for the holidays (only) as a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is GREAT!. The pudding itself is tart, but when served with the sauce it is perfectly balanced. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the sauce. Make sure to grease the mold well, and don't forget the lid. I didn't grease my lid, and when the pudding puffed up it stuck. Then again, I doubled the recipe because it didn't look like it would make enough to fill my mold. I didn't expect it to puff as much as it did. I guess it's all that baking soda. :) Once again, WONDERFUL. This will be a part of my holiday table from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
On of my favorites. Even my teen boys & hubby like it. Skip the cream sauce if you are watching calories. A little low cal butter/marg does the trick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The recipe I have used since I was a child also called for 3/4 cup of raisins. This is one of my favorite things to eat but one word of caution. Don't try to eat the pudding without the sauce or you will definitely be turned off by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Yum! I recently bought a similar pudding at a Craft show and was hooked! This recipe used the same ingredients listed on the label of the one I bought and it turned out great! I don't have a steamer mold so I just used a loaf pan covered tightly with aluminium foil. Thanks for the recipe.. it will surely be a tradition in our family from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is great pudding, but instead of heavy cream, I like using sour cream. Creates a unique taste that grandma is sure to love! -- Luke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a great pudding but 2 tsps of baking soda is too much. Hence the reason it hits the top of the tin and also the taste of the baking soda is overpowering. 1 tsp. is adequate and I have even made it with 1/2 tsp. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States