Steamed Cranberry Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a great pudding but 2 tsps of baking soda is too much. Hence the reason it hits the top of the tin and also the taste of the baking soda is overpowering. 1 tsp. is adequate and I have even made it with 1/2 tsp. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Yum! I recently bought a similar pudding at a Craft show and was hooked! This recipe used the same ingredients listed on the label of the one I bought and it turned out great! I don't have a steamer mold so I just used a loaf pan covered tightly with aluminium foil. Thanks for the recipe.. it will surely be a tradition in our family from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe has been in my family for over 50 years -- every year it is a given at Christmas or Thanksgiving meal. This is the first time I have ever seen the recipe in print other than my own!! It makes a beautiful presentation on china plate with holly and cranberries around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This is GREAT!. The pudding itself is tart, but when served with the sauce it is perfectly balanced. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the sauce. Make sure to grease the mold well, and don't forget the lid. I didn't grease my lid, and when the pudding puffed up it stuck. Then again, I doubled the recipe because it didn't look like it would make enough to fill my mold. I didn't expect it to puff as much as it did. I guess it's all that baking soda. :) Once again, WONDERFUL. This will be a part of my holiday table from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
If you like molasses you'll like this pudding. I used the mildest I could buy and sill didn't like it very much. I gave it a 3 rating because the sauce is GREAT. I'll find another steamed pudding to use it on. Note: 1 tsp of soda was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a great Christmas pudding (in the British sense of a heavy, steamed cake, not in the American sense of a custard-y treat). It's tart, heavy, and molasses-y - the cranberries make a nice contrast to the heavy batter and IMHO are a big improvement on plum or raisin puddings. I don't have a steamer mold, so I used a greased ring mold, covered with tinfoil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm so pleased to have found this recipe. First, I'd like to say I've never made a steamed pudding of any kind before and was looking forward to trying something like this. I have imagined a bite of the pudding in "Scrooge" that sounds so delectable to the anticipation of the "Cratchit family" in story. I followed this recipe precisely...even down to the whole cranberries and am I ever glad I did. Perfect, but you must have the warm sauce to pour over. This may appeal to perhaps a more grown-up palate, but maybe not though. * Warning this is very rich and I can see why people make it for the holidays (only) as a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
On of my favorites. Even my teen boys & hubby like it. Skip the cream sauce if you are watching calories. A little low cal butter/marg does the trick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is great pudding, but instead of heavy cream, I like using sour cream. Creates a unique taste that grandma is sure to love! -- Luke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Absolutely light and moist. Made it for a dinner party for the first time and it was a hit, with people going back for seconds. Delicious, i may try to add some cinnamon or nutmeg if i'm feeling adventurous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Mohino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States