Steamed Blue Crabs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Go Steve! This is a true Maryland Blue Crab recipe! In fact, I just cooked up a 1/2 bushel of Chincoteague Bay crabs with the same ingredients, except the salt, since these crabs are raised in the saltier Atlantic Ocean water then the Chesapeake blue crab. Do what he said, then put out some cider vinegar and Bay Seasoning for dipping and you have a real Maryland crab feast. Oh yeah, beer is traditional with it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is the best method for blue crabs and is how my family has always cooked them. I don't add the salt, doesn't seem important. Make sure to serve with individual bowls of melted butter for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
As a true Marylander I can say that this is the best way to eat crabs! Steaming crabs really makes for a superior crab meat (as opposed to boiling them). I like a little less vinegar in my beer mix, and a little less salt. This made for a perfect Eastern Shore 4th of July with some silver queen corn, watermelon, beans and tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by KissTheChefette
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
**DISCLAIMER**You must like old bay to like this recipe. I do love the use of beer, it tastes so rich and infuses so much flavor into the crabs. I have also steamed crabs with beer, garlic, and a sprinkling of old bay which was a huge crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Right on time.!! Skipped the salt due to the crabs being from the gulf and the dead of summer. I added a little Zatarians shrimp and crab boil to the pot with the Old bay, also added a couple of smashed cloves of garlic and a little lemon juice. Every one really enjoyed them, Must have as there was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I would just add one note: Here on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, we layer the crabs with seasoning - one layer of crabs, a generous amount of Old Bay and course ground salt, then the next layer of crabs and seasoning. Here ub Maryland we take our crabs seriously and it is more than a feast, it's a social event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Awesome recipe-I used it to steam Tilapia instead and it came out wonderful. I cut the recipe down to 1/3 of all of the ingredients listed because I only had a 1/2lb. of fish. I steamed for 8 minutes and the fish was moist, but flaky. This is a good alternative cooking method for fish that would otherwise disintegrate on a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Easy and delish! Went to a fresh seafood market while at Myrtle Beach and impressed my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States