Steaks With Roquefort Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Good sauce that I would try again with some modifications. Not a brandy lover so would sub balsamic vinegar. Recently went to a restaurant that served steak with an alfredo sauce on top then a few spears of asparagus on top of that and some crispy shoestring fried onions under it-awesome. This recipe could be adjusted to similar by using good parmeson with the cream as well as a little butter to make a rich alfredo sauce and some balsamic vinegar or a little red wine would give some zing to it. Anyway good basic recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was cleaning out my freezer and found some freezer burned sirloins and broccoli and thought to myself, "how I am I going to salvage this mess?" This sauce was the only thing that made them palatable! Very delicious, easy to make, and classic. I had a similar sauce to this one at a cafe in Paris; one of my favorite meals of all time. I'm so excited to be able to recreate it at home! Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Nathaniel loved it! Cut it into bite sized cubes for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Sauce was delicious but needs to be thicknened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
this was fantastic ! I was looking for a really cheesy, creamy sauce & this turned out to be it...I didn't have any brandy, so I used a slug of beer & I added a few sliced mushrooms but other than that, I did it as is & thought it was lovely !!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
As a blue cheese lover I thought this sauce was wonderful. It went so well with my steak (and over my potatoes!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I feel like the sauce needed a little *something* to kick it up a bit. I ended up overseasoning the steaks in an attempt to compensate for the sauce - not a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Fantastic! I also cooked some sliced mushrooms in the pan before adding the sauce ingredients. The mushrooms add a lot to the flavor and the texture. A splash of red wine is nice, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was a very flavorful sauce. I used Jim Beam whiskey instead of Brandy and seasoned the steaks with steak seasoning pepper. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Excellent sauce. It also goes well over asparagus. I used half and half instead of heavy cream. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States