Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
The taste was pretty good but not what I had expected. This did not work in my bread machine so I tried it again and pulled it out after the dough mixed and baked it in a loaf pan. It's ok but not great tried it again and still doesn't work in the machine so won't be making it again. Gave it two stars for working 1 out of 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This recipe didn't work at all! It doesn't say what size loaf - so I guessed in the middle at 1 1/2 lbs. It just made a big gooey mess! A complete waste of ingredients and $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I tried this recipe, once in the bread machine, once by hand. Gloppy mess both times. Loaf in the bread machine turned out close to 3 inches long. I bake bread 3 times a week, so I know what I'm doing. Won't make this again, waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I thought this bread was delicious. The batter was kinda wet and next time I will use about a tablespoon less water. The loaf sank a little in the middle but the bread was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was aweful. Like the other reviewers Iwill never make it again. It was gloppy, didn't rise, didn't work in the bread machine and a waste of time, money and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I love this bread. My husband can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe is the best. Warm or room temp, the bread has a great flavor and texture. It freezes well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This really is like steak-house bread! Mine wasn't goopy as other reviews say, it was perfect. Infact I took the bread out 10 min. early. Didn't have instant coffee, so used left over AM coffee instead of the water asked for. Also added a little extra honey for a totally sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheriewatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I have never used a Bread Machine before or even made Homeade bread from scratch. Even after reading the bad reviews, I made this bread on my first attempt. I went by rkplucker advice and put it for 1 1/2 loaf. When I kept peeking in, it did look "gooey", up until the last hour. Then it came out great! It tastes great too! I made this again for my 3rd loaf and plan on making this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Didn't like this one. I needed to add quite a bit more flour to get the consistency right. It was too sweet and 'chocolatey' for our taste - almost like a bread you would serve as a sweet treat with tea, rather than one to have with lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States