Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Really good sweet dark bread, the coffee and chocolate undertones are wonderful. I made this with my bread maker, aka 'my new best friend'. I weigh out all my flours when making bread. This may be why some people report problems with bread recipies. You can convert recipies to metric at the servings tab on top of the recipe and then use a kitchen scale to help get the correct amounts of flour. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
A wonderfully soft and fluffy bread with great flavor. This disappeared so fast I wish I had made 2. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This bread was scrumptious! I doubled the recipe, and it turned out perfect. We loved the slightly sweet honey taste especially in the crust. The bread keeps well wrapped in plastic wrap, and is also great for toast. One slice is enough...as it is very filling. I will be making this bread until the big dough hook in the sky takes me away! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I have made this bread half a dozen times and it never rises. I started to get so frustrated b/c the flavor was great, but it was a moist hockey puke. I found a blog about bread making and read over what some of the issues could have been. Today i tried again. I proofed my yeast with water and sugar first, to make sure the yeast was good. Which is was. Then I mixed all the dry ingredients together, and added them to the proofed yeast. I topped it with the butter and honey. I put it int he bread machine and let it go through one kneading cycle. My machine does two for some reasons. I don't think this bread was liking that second kneading. Lastly, I warmed the cup of water in the microwave to make a nice warm humid environment and let the bread rise in there for a few hours. Yes, it finally rose. I baked it in the oven 350 for 20 min and it was perfect! So, anyone who was having rising issues, this is what I did. Hope it helps you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I could eat this for dessert,,, best bread I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I did a lot of what teadrinker did to adjust the recipe for a 2lb loaf: 1 1/4 cup water, 3/4 tsp salt, 2 cups bread flour, 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour, 2 tsp yeast. I left the honey, sugar, and cocoa powder the same as original recipe. I did not have any coffee, so left it out. This was wonderful! It cut nicely, rose to the top of the pan, and was heavy without being a brick. The what flour was freshly ground right before I made the bread and I have noticed that ww flour makes loaves quite a bit heavier. This was still good. It was slightly sweet, but not cloying. All we did to it was spread fresh butter on top. There was only a bit left this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Well I can only say that my loaf of bread came out so big and fluffy. I did it for a 2lb machine. I Love the flavor, the texture, and the consistency. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grisel Gallardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My whole family loves this - I have even made it twice it one day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My family really enjoyed this bread, but found it heavy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazybuslady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wow, this bread is really good! It's probably the best that's ever come out of my bread machine. But the original poster really needs to modify the recipe because as many people have mentioned, the dough is way too wet. I ended up adding an extra 1-2 Tbsp. of flour to get it to the consistency it should have been. That said, any bread machine user who's read the machine's directions should know that you don't just dump all the ingredients in the pan and walk away. A careful baker will watch the dough as it's being kneaded and make liquid or flour adjustments as necessary. To the people who said this bread was weird or bitter tasting I suggest you check the quality of your ingredients. I used pure unsweetened cocoa powder and a coffee substitute I get from the health food store. There was no weird or bitter taste at all. True, the bread is a little sweet but no where near as sweet as dessert. The people who said it was too sweet either don't like sweet at all or maybe they used sweetened cocoa powder or chocolate milk powder or something. Fantastic bread. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States