Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The best bread ever! A slightly sweet taste, but it does taste like what they have at a restaurant. Since I have a larger bread machine, the next time I make it, I will double the recipe. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
YUM! The only thing I changed was that I used 3/4 cup brewed coffee in place of the 3/4 cup water and instant coffee. I didn't have any instant to dissolve when I made this so I just did it that way and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good, I don't have a bread machine so I made by hand but it turned out well. I doubled the brown sugar but still felt the molasses taste came through a lot. Didn't notice the coffee flavor but it was pretty weak. Baked on a pizza stone and it makes a very big loaf! I don't know that I'll go through the 5 lb bag of rye flour I bought though! Hopefully it freezes well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Given that the reviews were all over the place, I went ahead a followed to the letter. I, too, was a bit concerned when I saw the results of the machine's mixing, but at the end, this was amazing! I set on the 1-lb loaf, whole wheat setting, and it was just perfect. I wish I could say what it was like the next day, but the next day had its own new loaf, as the first was eaten in one sitting and there were requests for breakfast the next morning. Next time I might reduce the sugar or honey some, just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jvdarcy
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made it today! Had to make a few mods because I was missing a couple ingredients, but it still came out completely perfect! So, first, I live at high altitude (like a mile high) so I'm never sure if anything that rises will work correctly, but it worked fantastically! I did not have any honey, so I used 1/4 c of maple syrup. Also, no cocoa, so I substituted 2 T of hot cocoa mix for the cocoa and sugar. My machine capacity is 1.5 to 2 pounds, so this one pound loaf was pretty small--next time I'll just double everything. Despite my substitutions, this bread rose and baked perfectly, and tastes light, fluffy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvdarcy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Can taste the coffee and the chocolate and it's not fooling anybody, tastes worse when it cools down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This bread is exactly what I hoped for. It is just like the bread we get at our local steakhouse. I used this recipe exactly as written. NOTE: your machine will need to be set for 1lb loaf and light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is delicious; not as sweet as I expected, but that can be tweaked. I made this recipe using the bread machine but took the dough out before it rose for the last time, rolling smaller loaves and making the bread in mini loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseytheriveter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly regarding ingredients, but I made it by hand into dinner rolls - these are delicious! Everyone liked these! I was interested because of the different ingredients, they work really well together - I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Best bread I've made yet. I don't understand the folks who are complaining about "what size loaf" and under or overbaking. The recipe is specifically for a bread machine, which takes all that guesswork out. The only change I made was eliminating the white sugar (I figured a 1/4 cup of honey was quite enough sweetness, and I was right!). If you put everything in a bread machine like it says, it comes out wonderful. I too thought it was very sticky-looking, but I didn't mess around with it and it ended up being my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States