Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I found my mother's older bread machine, one of the earliest Black & Decker models, and decided to try my hand; since my daughters had done most of the bread making when still at home. I chose this as one of my experiments because I always liked the small loaves served in some restaurants. It was a Success! Every crumb was perfect, including the crust, but I would not recommend this for sandwiches. It is the best meat and potatoes, pot roast or soup bread with lots of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This bread FIANLLY gave me a machine-made bread with beautiful texture & good flavor, although I will cut back on the sweetener next time. I used the lightest crust setting my machine has, but the dog still got the crust - & loved it. The other thing that baffles me is, with this recipe, the dough formed in balls which didn't stick together (!) I let it bake that way & treated the loaf as a pull-apart. It's a fine starting place for finding a way to make bread in the machine that has a texture other than baked hockey puck. In fact, it has a very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this recipe yesterday and doubled the recipe since I made a 2 lb loaf. It is fabulous! I will make again and again! Some of the best bread I have had yet with my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falkville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great bread! I used the 1.5lb loaf setting, but it loaf was a bit small and overbrowned even with light crust setting; will try smaller loaf setting next time. I didn't have bread flour (plain) available so used bread multigrain flour - otherwise no mods. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My bread looked just like the picture. It was great, nothing I would change about the recipe. It sliced perfectly. I might try to add something a little nutty to the dough after it has risen---don't know. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Thank you so much for the bread machine conversion. I'm a novice and it came out great. Everyone loved it at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This bread was wonderful! I was a little nervous about how others said that the bread was sticky in the machine, but I just added a little extra flour and it came out PERFECT!! Will definitely make this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was very good bread. A wonderful change from regular white or wheat bread. It was easy to make and it came out wonderfully using the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I didn't have any honey left over so I substituted 1/4 cup of molasses + 1 extra tablespoon of white sugar for the 1/4 cup of honey. I was worried it wasn't going to rise enough or even cook all the way through, but it turned out wonderfully! This really does make a wonderful dinner bread or even a stand alone bread. Doesn't even need butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiki0o

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious bread. I doubled the recipe and followed another reviewer's advice for making this with my KA and baked in the oven. It was beautiful dough and not gooey at all. Because the bread is so dark it is hard to tell when it is completely cooked. About 20 mins at 350 in four mini loaf pans worked out best. So good toasted with butter or cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States