Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My third loaf is in the machine as I type this. This is a WONDERFUL recipe! It doesn't keep as long as some others I've made, but that's okay because it's usually been devoured by day 2. ;) Settings: light crust and 1.5# loaf. I did cut the yeast down to 1 tsp for my second loaf and the bread was slightly more dense, but tasted the same. This bread is wonderful with homemade honey butter, or just straight honey as a topping. Thanks so much for listing it! It's my current fave. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is pretty good bread. The texture was great! I could really taste the cocoa and coffee in it. The recipe doesn't really say the loaf size. I set my bread machine to a 1 LB loaf size and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought this was quite good. And smelled so yummy! I made it in my Sunbeam El Cheapo Breadmaker on the 1.5 loaf setting. Later, I will try to use the dough setting and make it as rolls as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This bread is so yummy! We really enjoy it and look forward to making it because it smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I found my mother's older bread machine, one of the earliest Black & Decker models, and decided to try my hand; since my daughters had done most of the bread making when still at home. I chose this as one of my experiments because I always liked the small loaves served in some restaurants. It was a Success! Every crumb was perfect, including the crust, but I would not recommend this for sandwiches. It is the best meat and potatoes, pot roast or soup bread with lots of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This bread FIANLLY gave me a machine-made bread with beautiful texture & good flavor, although I will cut back on the sweetener next time. I used the lightest crust setting my machine has, but the dog still got the crust - & loved it. The other thing that baffles me is, with this recipe, the dough formed in balls which didn't stick together (!) I let it bake that way & treated the loaf as a pull-apart. It's a fine starting place for finding a way to make bread in the machine that has a texture other than baked hockey puck. In fact, it has a very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this recipe yesterday and doubled the recipe since I made a 2 lb loaf. It is fabulous! I will make again and again! Some of the best bread I have had yet with my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falkville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great bread! I used the 1.5lb loaf setting, but it loaf was a bit small and overbrowned even with light crust setting; will try smaller loaf setting next time. I didn't have bread flour (plain) available so used bread multigrain flour - otherwise no mods. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My bread looked just like the picture. It was great, nothing I would change about the recipe. It sliced perfectly. I might try to add something a little nutty to the dough after it has risen---don't know. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Thank you so much for the bread machine conversion. I'm a novice and it came out great. Everyone loved it at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States