Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I went with the coffee idea vs. the instant and water and it came out good however next time will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcowsar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
our favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Can I say YUM!!! I was looking to make rolls so I used the dough setting of my bread machine and doubled the recipe. I left out the sugar because I did not want an overly sweet bread, added 1/4 cup of wheat flour (after reading reviews saying the dough was wet-I wanted to be able to roll it out and cut with a biscut cutter. I don't know that the extra flour was needed though.) and I added 2T vital wheat gluten. I rolled the dough out, cut with a small biscut cutter and sprinkled rolled oats on the top before covering them with oiled plastic wrap and letting rise for 1hr. I baked the rolls at 350 for 20min. They came out PERFECT! They are slightly sweet without tasting like a dessert bread and rich due to the coffee and cocoa. Good chewy texture. I'll try leaving out the extra flour next time-as I will be making these again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
So yummy! I didn't have the coco powder so I left it out, and I just threw in weak coffee in place of the water and instant coffee. So good, great chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This bread was fantastic. I can't get over how it tasted exactly like the bread at the steakhouse!!! My family loved it. I followed directions exactly and it turned out perfectttt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Made this for the first time tonight and it is amazing! Followed the directions exactly and made it in my bread machine and it came out perfect. Nice consistency and taste. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yale, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Increased the recipe for 12 servings, as that is the usual flour capacity for my bread machine. Used already brewed coffee for the liquid, eliminating the instant granules. Used all molasses, instead of honey. This gave the bread the rich, deep flavor of the dark bread. Upped the yeast, as well as added 1T gluten. I don't think the bread would have risen as much if I didn't. Added a few more T of flour, as the dough seemed sticky in the dough cycle of my machine. Great taste. Would make again. Very close knock off of the steakhouse dark bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
5 stars because the loaf came out beautifully - I made as written but doubled it. However (never having had the "original" steakhouse bread) I found this overly sweet - next time I'll cut out the extra 2 tbsp of sugar I think....or at the very least substitute 1 tbsp molasses for some extra nutrition instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is now my all time favorite bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a pretty decent copycat recipe. I got lots of great feedback when I made this for a church event. The dough is REALLY sticky though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States