Steakhouse Wheat Bread for the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe today and it came out really tasty. I add one large egg since lecithin in egg yolk is a natural dough conditioner. I also add 1.5 Tablespoon of wheat glueten. I change the servings to 12. I use 1/3 cup of strong brew coffee instead of instant coffee. replace the water to 2/3 cup plus 2 table spoon milk . I used 1.5 cup all purpose flour and 1.5 cup white 100% whole wheat flour. I omit the salt. I add the white sugar as well and I am glad I did. you could taste a little bit of the dought so see if you like the sweetness and adjust according to your taste. I also add chopped walnut for more nutrients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Based on some of the previous reviews I guessed the original recipe was for a 1lb loaf. I modified from 8 to 12 servings to make a 1.5lb loaf for my bread machine and it came out perfectly! Extremely similar to our "nameless" steak house restaurant, the entire family loved! I was a little hesitant after reading some of the reviews but figured I'd give it a try. I truly just dumped everything into the breakmaker based on the original recipe and walked away. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was my first attempt at "homemade" bread. The flavor was yummy however I don't think I selected the right setting on my bread machine due to the lack of information in the instructions..so the flavor is good but the instructions..not so much. Especially for the inexperienced bread maker like myself. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Not much rise in the dough, but they come out great, fantastic taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic bread. I made two loaves over the weekend and already ate one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Used tea drinker's Zojirushi modification for my Zo, increasing the ingredients for a 2 lb. loaf and it worked perfectly, (used butter, not margarine). I monitored the kneading cycle to make sure the dough was not too wet and it was not. Perhaps that's because of the addition of the vital wheat gluten recommended by tea drinker. It was light, mildly crusty (would probably use the dark crust setting next time, instead of medium, as we like a crunchy crust) and not too sweet. I used SAF yeast 2 1/4 teaspoon. Went over very well: plain, sandwiches, etc. grace614
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe, but should include loaf size. I set mine at 1.5 and it worked OK. Left the sugar out just used honey and only used wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Came out perfect with no adjustments. I use Dutch processed cocoa. The picky toddler and preschooler even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MiTziGo
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was the second loaf I ever made in my bread machine (the first was the basic "Best Bread Machine Bread"), and I was a bit nervous to try something so complex so early, but I needn't have been. It was a complete success!!! Totally loved another reviewer's suggestion to top it with butter--amazing! Anyway, I have a 2.5-lb Panasonic bread machine with automatic yeast dispenser. Did 1.5 times the original recipe and set the machine to Bake, Whole Wheat, Medium Loaf (which is the smallest setting for the model). I followed Panasonic's instructions for adding the ingredients, not the recipe's, and used active dry yeast rather than bread machine yeast. Perfection. Edit: Just tried a doubled-recipe batch on the large loaf setting (the second of the machine's three sizes), and it came out perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was the best bread ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States