Steakhouse Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved this bread. I used the K.A. to make it as I no longer have a bread maker. I dissolved the yeast in the coffee with the brown sugar, let it foam and added it to the other ingredients in the bowl. I let the machine knead the dough for ten minutes once it had formed a ball and had pulled away for the sides and bottom of the bowl. I then removed the dough, added olive to the bowl and placed the dough back. I let it rise until double in size, punched it down and formed two round loafs. Once it had doubled I brushed with egg, sprinkled with oatmeal and baked it for 25 minutes. Perfection. I loved the flavour and texture. Thank you for a great recipe Maggie McGuire. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed the directions and made this in my bread machine. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I USED FOUR TBSP OF BROWN SUGAR AND LET MY BREAD MACHINE MIX IT. I TOOK THE DOUGH OUT BEFORE THE FIRST RISE, REMOVED THE KNEADING PADDLE, PLACED IN A 9X5, COVERED WITH TOWEL, AND LET RISE FOR ONE HOUR AND 30 MINUTES IN A WARM AREA. BAKED IN OVEN ON 375 FOR 32 MINUTES ON CONVECTION BAKE. IT WAS DELICIOUS. IT RISES BETTER IF THE COFFEE IS AROUND 110 DEGREES. THA BOMB!!!SLICE WITH BREAD SLICER!! WHIP HONEY INTO BUTTER AND SPREAD ON HOT BREAD .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Neal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It was awful stuff tasted bitter all you could taste was coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I remember this bread from a steakhouse in Texas, really good flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Jez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Not anything like like the steakhouse bread I have tasted. Texture was OK but flavor was just so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe is easy and makes excellent sandwich rolls. The only thing I changed was that I added 2 teaspoons of caraway seed. Plan on making this to have some corned beef sandwiches for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made this several times. The flavor is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
YUM!!!! I did the whole thing in the bread maker (probably won't do that again as it was pushing the top open!). You have to use really GOOD coffee in this though because that flavor really comes through. I thought it had the perfect amount of sweetness as well. It's a moist bread, perfect with a slathering of butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
These were perfect!!! Can't wait to make them again!!! After reading the reviews, I was a little afraid of them being bitter so I used 3 tbsp molasses and 1 tbsp honey. I added an extra tbsp of light brown sugar and used regular strength coffee. They were wonderful!! I served them with some cinnamon honey butter but they didn't even need it. I let them rise in a cool place so that they had more time to develop more flavor. Next time I'll make the coffee a little stronger but that's the only thing I'll do different. These were awesome and definitely a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelseaDH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States