Steak with Marsala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Fast, easy and good. I doubled the amount of marsala, water, and beef base. I added a little more mushrooms and onions.Sauce added a lot of flavor to the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I thought this was excellent with my grilled tenderloins. I didn't have any mushrooms so I just left those out and I added a bit more marsala since it reduced to almost nothing. The flavor was fantastic and I poured some of it over my baked potato too. Great, guilt free sauce since no butter is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Easy and delicious. On Thursday nights, I cook for my husbands buddies. He sets the table, and I prepare the meal. I marinate the steak and he grills. The Marsala Wine sauce was an afterthought. So glad I did. The sauce complimented the steak unbelieveably. Side dishes were baked asparagus spears wilth balsamic vinegar and soy sauce, stuffed sweet potatoes with brown sugar, pecans and marshmellows, and homemade pecan pie... I didn't have to wash the dishes and clean up the kitchen. They did.. !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Helena, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This sauce was pretty good but not unusual. I need to use my marsala wine up so That's what I used. I'm not sure what beef base is so I used some beef broth I had. I used this with some very tender steaks... thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This sauce is absolutely delicious! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I made a few simple changes. 1. I doubled the sauce ingredients and trippled the water. 2. I caramelized the onion in a bit of butter then added the mushrooms, it creates a rich yummy flavor. 3. I made the sauce and kept it warm while the steaks were cooking since the steak cooks so fast. 4. Just in case anyone was wondering you broil on High (the recipe doesn't specify). Over all very delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Finny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The sauce turned out great!! used beef and onion soup mix instead of beef base! GREAT SAUCE!! but the steak came out looking real good (nice and pink) when you took a bite thats where the flaw was. It was chewy and tuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prudwetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was very tasty. I omited the onions. I just wish there was more liquid since most of it evaporated. Next time I will add some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I felt that the sauce needed something so I can't give it 5 stars. I added minced garlic and I felt that was the missing ingredient. I sliced the steak, doubled the sauce and served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Might try again and not cook sauce so early
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States