Steak n Ale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a good recipe for a classic 'footie' food. Add a little more beef, cut back slightly on some of the veggies and add some more corn starch to the sauce and this becomes a perfect main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I thought this was a really good recipe but did leave out the turnip though. Family whole heartedly loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This pie turned out picture perfect. It looked delicious, and my DH and I could hardly wait to dig in. However, it looked far more tasty than it actually was. had added beef boullion to the water for more flavor. Even this did no good. It literally had no flavor at all. will not make this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe was pretty good, although the "gravy" was more like broth. I couldn't get it to thicken no matter what I did. Came out more like stew. Might try it again though and see if it was just an isolated thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
my husband really liked this. i think the flaws in it were my fault, because it was the first time i made anything with puff pastry. i'll be using it again-- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giftable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I usually chose my recipes and cook with my family in mind, but this time I made this recipe just for me (I had a craving for beef stew meat). I browned my meat in butter and olive oil rather than lard, parboiled the vegetables in beef stock before adding them to my "stew", and baked up a container of refrigerated sourdough biscuits. I add garlic to just about everything, and so I added some chopped garlic to this; I also added a couple of cilantro leaves and some dried thyme. I did not bake it as a pie, but rather served myself the prepared meat/vegetable mixture/gravy mixture with 2 of my biscuits (which I buttered) on the side. TOTALLY DELICIOUS. A phenominal COMFORT FOOD experience; an absolutely "guilty pleasure" that I will definitely make again (and keep to myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This pie was indeed VERY tasty. I made it for my boyfriend and i as he is always talking about steak and ale pie. i substituted the turnip with gently fried mushrooms and boiled all the fresh vegetables before baking so that they were as soft as possible. However, when i was making the ale/water for the juice, it just wouldnt thicken, i had to end up adding some gravy granules to thicken it. This was the only "problem" i came across and all in all this was probably the tastiest steak and ale pie ive ever had. Regards to the pie man =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I made a number of changes to this recipe... The biggest being that I used tofu instead of steak and made my own crust. It turned out great though, I really like the addition off the ale for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreannaDrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Excellent and easy, better than the pub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullajabbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
My husband loved this recipe. I used Guiness Draft instead of the ale and I added 1 pkg dry mushroom gravy and 1 tsp worchestershire sauce. It had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States